preparing.xml - en to ko translation catalogue (250 entries)

note: Tag: title
en: Before Installing &debian-gnu;
ko: &debian-gnu;를 설치하기 전에

note: Tag: para
en: This chapter deals with the preparation for installing &debian; before you even boot the installer. This includes backing up your data, gathering information about your hardware, and locating any necessary information.
ko: 이 장에서는 설치 프로그램을 부팅하기 전에, &debian; 설치 준비 사항에 대해 다룹니다. 여기에서는 데이터 백업, 하드웨어에 대한 정보 모으기, 기타 필요한 정보 찾기와 같은 것을 포함합니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Overview of the Installation Process
ko: 설치 과정 개요

note: Tag: para
en: First, just a note about re-installations. With &debian;, a circumstance that will require a complete re-installation of your system is very rare; perhaps mechanical failure of the hard disk would be the most common case.
ko: 먼저 시스템을 다시 설치하는 것에 대해 설명합니다. &debian;에서 시스템 전체를 다시 설치해야 할 상황은 아주 드뭅니다. 다시 설치해야 하는 경우는 하드 디스크의 기계적인 고장이 대부분일  것입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Many common operating systems may require a complete installation to be performed when critical failures take place or for upgrades to new OS versions. Even if a completely new installation isn't required, often the programs you use must be re-installed to operate properly in the new OS.
ko: 흔히 사용하는 많은 운영 체제에서는 치명적인 문제점이 발생하거나 새로운 운영 체제의 버전으로 업그레이드하려는 경우 완전히 새로 설치해야 합니다. 처음부터 완전히 새로 설치할 필요는 없다고 해도, 프로그램이 새로운 운영 체제에서 제대로 동작하려면 프로그램을 다시 설치해야 합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Under &debian-gnu;, it is much more likely that your OS can be repaired rather than replaced if things go wrong. Upgrades never require a wholesale installation; you can always upgrade in-place. And the programs are almost always compatible with successive OS releases. If a new program version requires newer supporting software, the &debian; packaging system ensures that all the necessary software is automatically identified and installed. The point is, much effort has been put into avoiding the need for re-installation, so think of it as your very last option. The installer is <emphasis>not</emphasis> designed to re-install over an existing system.
ko: &debian-gnu;에서는 잘되지 않는 경우, OS를 대체하지 않고 교체할 수 는 케이스가 훨씬 많습니다. 업그레이드  때 전부 다 설치  필요 없고, 항상 그 자리에서 업그레이드할 수 있습니다. 또한 OS의 릴리스가 계속해서 프로그램을 항상 호환 합니다. 프로그램의 새로운 버전이 최신에 의존하는 소프트웨어를 요구하는 경우 &debian; 패키지 시스템은 필요한 소프트웨어를 자동으로 확인하고 확실하게 설치합니다. 다시 설치하지 않도록 힘써 왔으며, 다시 설치하지 않으면 안된다고하는 것은 최후의 수단이라는 것이 포인트입니다. 설치 프로그램은 기존 시스템 위에 다시 설치하도록 설계되지 않았습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Here's a road map for the steps you will take during the installation process.
ko: 다음은 설치 과정에서 해야 할 단계입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Back up any existing data or documents on the hard disk where you plan to install.
ko: 설치하려는 하드 디스크에 들어 있는 데이터나 문서를 백업하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Gather information about your computer and any needed documentation, before starting the installation.
ko: 설치를 시작하기 전에 해당 컴퓨터에 대한 정보와 필요한 문서를 모으십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Create partitionable space for &debian; on your hard disk.
ko: 하드 디스크의 &debian; 파티션에 사용 가능한 공간을 확보하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Locate and/or download the installer software and any specialized driver or firmware files your machine requires.
ko: 컴퓨터에 필요한 설치 프로그램 소프트웨어와 특별히 필요한 드라이버 파일의 위치를 확인하여 다운로드하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Set up boot media such as CDs/DVDs/USB sticks or provide a network boot infrastructure from which the installer can be booted.
ko: 설치 프로그램이 부팅할 수 있도록 CD/DVD/USB 메모리와 같은 부팅 미디어를 설정하거나, 네트워크 부팅 환경을 만드십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Boot the installation system.
ko: 설치 시스템을 부팅하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Select the installation language.
ko: 설치 언어를 선택하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Activate the ethernet network connection, if available.
ko: 이더넷 네트워크 연결이 있으면 활성화하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Configure one network interface.
ko: 네트워크 인터페이스를 하나 설정하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Open an ssh connection to the new system.
ko: 새 시스템에 SSH 연결을 여십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Attach one or more DASDs (Direct Access Storage Device).
ko: 1개 이상의 DASD(Direct Access Storage Device)를 부착하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: If necessary, resize existing partitions on your target harddisk to make space for the installation.
ko: 필요한 경우 대상 하드 디스크의 기존 파티션의 크기를 바꿔 설치할 공간을 확보하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Create and mount the partitions on which &debian; will be installed.
ko: &debian;을 설치할 파티션을 만들고 마운트합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Watch the automatic download/install/setup of the <firstterm>base system</firstterm>.
ko: <firstterm>베이스 시스템</firstterm>의 자동 다운로드/설치/설정을 지켜보십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Select and install <firstterm>additional software</firstterm>.
ko: <firstterm>추가 소프트웨어</firstterm>를 선택하고 설치하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Install a <firstterm>boot loader</firstterm> which can start up &debian-gnu; and/or your existing system.
ko: &debian-gnu; 및 기존 시스템을 시작할 수 있는 <firstterm>부트로더</firstterm>를 설치하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Load the newly installed system for the first time.
ko: 새로 설치한 시스템을 처음으로 시작하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: For &arch-title; you have the option of using <phrase arch="any-x86">a</phrase> <phrase arch="powerpc">an experimental</phrase> graphical version of the installation system. For more information about this graphical installer, see <xref linkend="graphical"/>.
ko: &arch-title;에서는 <phrase arch="powerpc">실험적인</phrase> 그래픽 버전의 설치 시스템을 사용하는 옵션이 있습니다. 그래픽 설치 프로그램은 <xref linkend="graphical"/>를 참조하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: If you have problems during the installation, it helps to know which packages are involved in which steps. Introducing the leading software actors in this installation drama:
ko: 설치할 때 문제가 발생할 때를 대비해서, 각 단계가 어떤 패키지와 상관이 있는지 알아 두는 게 좋습니다. 이 설치 단계의 주요 소프트웨어를 소개하면:

note: Tag: para
en: The installer software, <classname>debian-installer</classname>, is the primary concern of this manual. It detects hardware and loads appropriate drivers, uses <classname>dhcp-client</classname> to set up the network connection, runs <classname>debootstrap</classname> to install the base system packages, and runs <classname>tasksel</classname> to allow you to install certain additional software. Many more actors play smaller parts in this process, but <classname>debian-installer</classname> has completed its task when you load the new system for the first time.
ko: 설치 소프트웨어인 <classname>debian-installer</classname>는 이 안내서에서 가장 중점적으로 다룹니다. <classname>debian-installer</classname>는 하드웨어를 찾아서 적당한 드라이버를 읽어들이고, <classname>dhcp-client</classname>를 이용해 네트워크 연결을 설정하고, <classname>debootstrap</classname>을 실행해 베이스 시스템 패키지를 설치하고, <classname>tasksel</classname>로 특정 소프트웨어를 추가로 설치합니다. 이 외에 많은 소프트웨어가 각 단계에서 작은 역할을 담당하고 있지만, 새 시스템이 처음 시작하기까지 전까지는 <classname>debian-installer</classname>가 작업을 마칩니다.

note: Tag: para
en: To tune the system to your needs, <classname>tasksel</classname> allows you to choose to install various predefined bundles of software like a Web server or a Desktop environment.
ko: 필요에 따라 시스템을 조정하려면, <classname>tasksel</classname>을 이용해 웹서버 또는 데스크톱 환경과 같은 미리 정의한 다양한 번들 소프트웨어를 설치할 수 있도록 선택할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: One important option during the installation is whether or not to install a graphical desktop environment, consisting of the X Window System and one of the available graphical desktop environments. If you choose not to select the <quote>Desktop environment</quote> task, you will only have a relatively basic, command line driven system. Installing the Desktop environment task is optional because in relation to a text-mode-only system it requires a comparatively large amount of disk space and because many &debian-gnu; systems are servers which don't really have any need for a graphical user interface to do their job.
ko: 설치할 때 중요한 옵션의 하나가 그래픽 데스크톱 환경을 설치할 지 옵션입니다. 그래픽 데스크톱 환경은 X 윈도우 시스템과 그래픽 데스크톱 환경 하나로 구성되어 있습니다. <quote>데스크톱 환경</quote> 태스크를 선택하지 않으면, 아주 기본적인 명령행 기반 시스템만 설치합니다. 데스크톱 환경 태스크 설치는 옵션입니다. 데스크톱 환경 태스크를 설치하면 텍스트 전용 시스템과 비교해 큰 디스크 공간을 차지하기 때문이고, 또 많은 &debian-gnu; 시스템은 서버로 동작하기 때문에 동작하는 데 그래픽 사용자 인터페이스가 전혀 필요없기 때문입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Just be aware that the X Window System is completely separate from <classname>debian-installer</classname>, and in fact is much more complicated. Troubleshooting of the X Window System is not within the scope of this manual.
ko: X 윈도우 시스템은 <classname>debian-installer</classname>와는 완전히 별도의 소프트웨어이고, 실제로 훨씬 더 복잡합니다. X 윈도우 시스템의 문제점 해결은 이 안내서가 다루는 범위를 벗어납니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Back Up Your Existing Data!
ko: 기존 데이터를 백업하십시오!

note: Tag: para
en: Before you start, make sure to back up every file that is now on your system. If this is the first time a non-native operating system is going to be installed on your computer, it is quite likely you will need to re-partition your disk to make room for &debian-gnu;. Anytime you partition your disk, you run a risk of losing everything on the disk, no matter what program you use to do it. The programs used in the installation of &debian-gnu; are quite reliable and most have seen years of use; but they are also quite powerful and a false move can cost you. Even after backing up, be careful and think about your answers and actions. Two minutes of thinking can save hours of unnecessary work.
ko: 시작하기 전에 지금 시스템에 있는 모든 파일을 백업해 두십시오. 원래 설치된 운영 체제가 아닌 운영 체제를 처음으로 설치하는 거라면, &debian-gnu;의 루트로 쓸 디스크를 다시 파티션해야 합니다. 파티션 프로그램으로 어떤 프로그램을 사용하든 간에, 디스크를 파티션하면 그 디스크에 있는 모든 파일을 잃어버리는 걸 감수해야 합니다. &debian-gnu; 설치에 사용하는 프로그램은 상당히 안정적이고 수년동안 사용해 온 프로그램이지만, 그만큼 강력하기도 해서 조금만 잘못하면 막심한 손해가 발생합니다. 백업을 한 뒤에도 대답을 할 때나 어떤 작업을 할 때 신중을 기하십시오. 일이분만 더 생각하면 수 시간의 불필요한 작업을 예방할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: If you are creating a multi-boot system, make sure that you have the distribution media of any other present operating systems on hand. Even though this is normally not necessary, there might be situations in which you could be required to reinstall your operating system's boot loader to make the system boot or in a worst case even have to reinstall the complete operating system and restore your previously made backup.
ko: 멀티 부팅 시스템을 만든다면, 기존 운영 체제의 배포 미디어를 가지고 있으십시오. 보통 그럴 필요가 없겠지만 시스템이 부팅하려면 부트로더를 다시 설치해야 할 수도 있고, 최악의 상황에서는 전체 운영 체제를 다시 설치하고 백업한 내용을 복구해야 할 수도 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Information You Will Need
ko: 필요한 정보

note: Tag: title
en: Documentation
ko: 문서

note: Tag: title
en: Installation Manual
ko: 설치 안내서

note: Tag: para
en: This document you are now reading, in plain ASCII, HTML or PDF format.
ko: 지금 읽고 있는 문서입니다. 일반 텍스트, HTML, 혹은 PDF 형식.

note: Tag: para
en: The document you are now reading, which is the official version of the Installation Guide for the &releasename; release of &debian;; available in <ulink url="&url-release-area;/installmanual">various formats and translations</ulink>.
ko: 지금 읽고 있는 이 문서는 &debian;의 &releasename; 릴리스 공식 설치 가이드의 개발 버전입니다. 이것은 <ulink url="&url-release-area;/installmanual">다양한 형식과 언어 </ulink>를 사용할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The document you are now reading, which is a development version of the Installation Guide for the next release of &debian;; available in <ulink url="&url-d-i-dillon-manual;">various formats and translations</ulink>.
ko: 지금 읽고있는이 문서는 &debian;의 차기 릴리스 설치 가이드의 개발 버전입니다. 이것은 <ulink url="&url-d-i-dillon-manual;">다양한 형식과 다양한 언어</ulink>에서 사용할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Hardware documentation
ko: 하드웨어 문서

note: Tag: para
en: Often contains useful information on configuring or using your hardware.
ko: 하드웨어를 설정하고 이용하는 방법에 대한 유용한 정보가 들어있습니다.

note: Tag: ulink
en: The Debian Wiki hardware page
ko: 데비안 위키 하드웨어 페이지

note: Tag: ulink
en: Linux/MIPS website
ko: Linux/MIPS 웹사이트

note: Tag: title
en: &arch-title; Hardware References
ko: &arch-title; 하드웨어 참고서

note: Tag: para
en: Documentation of &arch-title;-specific boot sequence, commands and device drivers (e.g. DASD, XPRAM, Console, OSA, HiperSockets and z/VM interaction)
ko: &arch-title; 특정 부팅 순서의 문서, 명령 및 장치 드라이버(예를 들면, DASD, XPRAM, Console, OSA, HiperSockets 및 z/VM interaction).

note: Tag: ulink
en: Device Drivers, Features, and Commands (Linux Kernel 3.2)
ko: 장치 드라이버, 기능 및 명령(리눅스 커널 3.2)

note: Tag: para
en: IBM Redbook describing how Linux can be combined with z/VM on zSeries and &arch-title; hardware.
ko: IBM 레드북, zSeries 및 &arch-title; 하드웨어에서 z/VM에 리눅스를 쓰는 방법을 설명합니다.

note: Tag: ulink
en: Linux for &arch-title;
ko: &arch-title;용 리눅스

note: Tag: para
en: IBM Redbook describing the Linux distributions available for the mainframe. It has no chapter about &debian; but the basic installation concepts are the same across all &arch-title; distributions.
ko: 메인 프레임용 Linux 배포판에 대해 설명하는 IBM 레드북입니다. &debian;에 관한 내용이 들어 있지 않지만 기본적인 설치 방법은 모든 &arch-title;배포판과 같습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Finding Sources of Hardware Information
ko: 하드웨어 정보가 있는 곳 찾기

note: Tag: para
en: In many cases, the installer will be able to automatically detect your hardware. But to be prepared, we do recommend familiarizing yourself with your hardware before the install.
ko: 보통은 설치 프로그램에서 자동으로 하드웨어를 찾아 냅니다. 하지만 철저히 준비하려면, 설치하기 전에 하드웨어에 대해 잘 알아 두는 게 좋습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Hardware information can be gathered from:
ko: 하드웨어 정보는 다음에서 알아낼 수 있습니다:

note: Tag: para
en: The manuals that come with each piece of hardware.
ko: 하드웨어에 같이 들어 있는 설명서.

note: Tag: para
en: The BIOS setup screens of your computer. You can view these screens when you start your computer by pressing a combination of keys. Check your manual for the combination. Often, it is the <keycap>Delete</keycap> or the <keycap>F2</keycap> key, but some manufacturers use other keys or key combinations. Usually upon starting the computer there will be a message stating which key to press to enter the setup screen.
ko: 컴퓨터의 BIOS 설정 화면. 컴퓨터가 시작할 때 어떤 키 조합을 누르면 BIOS 설정 화면을 볼 수 있습니다. 보통 <keycap>Delete</keycap> 또는 <keycap>F2</keycap> 키이지만, 제조사에 따라 다른 키나 키조합을 사용할 수도 있습니다. 보통 컴퓨터 부팅할 때 어떤 키를 눌러야 설정 메뉴로 들어가는지 메시지를 표시합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The cases and boxes for each piece of hardware.
ko: 하드웨어의 케이스 및 포장.

note: Tag: para
en: The System window in the Windows Control Panel.
ko: 윈도우 제어판의 시스템 창.

note: Tag: para
en: System commands or tools in another operating system, including file manager displays. This source is especially useful for information about RAM and hard drive memory.
ko: 파일 관리자에서 표시하는 것과 같은, 다른 운영 체제의 시스템 명령어 및 시스템 도구. 특히 RAM과 하드 드라이브에 대한 정보를 알아내는 데 유용합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Your system administrator or Internet Service Provider. These sources can tell you the settings you need to set up your networking and e-mail.
ko: 시스템 관리자 혹은 인터넷 서비스 회사. 여기서는 네트워크 및 전자메일 설정에 관련된 사항을 알 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Hardware Information Helpful for an Install
ko: 설치에 도움이 되는 하드웨어 정보

note: Tag: entry
en: Hardware
ko: 하드웨어

note: Tag: entry
en: Information You Might Need
ko: 필요할 수 있는 정보

note: Tag: entry
en: Hard Drives
ko: 하드 드라이브

note: Tag: entry
en: How many you have.
ko: 용량이 얼마나 되는 지.

note: Tag: entry
en: Their order on the system.
ko: 시스템에 붙어 있는 순서.

note: Tag: entry
en: Whether IDE (also known as PATA), SATA or SCSI.
ko: IDE (PATA), SATA, SCSI 중 한 가지.

note: Tag: entry
en: Available free space.
ko: 사용 가능한 빈 공간.

note: Tag: entry
en: Partitions.
ko: 파티션.

note: Tag: entry
en: Partitions where other operating systems are installed.
ko: 다른 운영 체제를 설치한 파티션.

note: Tag: entry
en: Network interfaces
ko: 네트워크 인터페이스

note: Tag: entry
en: Type/model of available network interfaces.
ko: 네트워크 인터페이스의 종류/모델.

note: Tag: entry
en: Printer
ko: 프린터

note: Tag: entry
en: Model and manufacturer.
ko: 모델 및 제조사.

note: Tag: entry
en: Video Card
ko: 비디오 카드

note: Tag: entry
en: Type/model and manufacturer.
ko: 타입/모델 및 제조사.

note: Tag: entry
en: Device number(s).
ko: 장치 번호.

note: Tag: entry
en: Network
ko: 네트워크

note: Tag: entry
en: Type of adapter.
ko: 어댑터 종류.

note: Tag: entry
en: Device numbers.
ko: 장치 번호.

note: Tag: entry
en: Relative adapter number for OSA cards.
ko: OSA 카드의 상대 어댑터 번호.

note: Tag: title
en: Hardware Compatibility
ko: 하드웨어 호환성

note: Tag: para
en: Many products work without trouble on &arch-kernel;. Moreover, hardware support in &arch-kernel; is improving daily. However, &arch-kernel; still does not run as many different types of hardware as some operating systems.
ko: 여러가지 제품이 문제없이 &arch-kernel;에서 작동합니다. 또한 &arch-kernel;에서 지원하는 하드웨어는 날이 갈수록 발전하고 있습니다. 하지만 아직도 &arch-kernel;에서는 다른 OS 만큼 다양한 하드웨어를 지원하지는 않습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Drivers in &arch-kernel; in most cases are not written for a certain <quote>product</quote> or <quote>brand</quote> from a specific manufacturer, but for a certain hardware/chipset. Many seemingly different products/brands are based on the same hardware design; it is not uncommon that chip manufacturers provide so-called <quote>reference designs</quote> for products based on their chips which are then used by several different device manufacturers and sold under lots of different product or brand names.
ko: &arch-kernel;의 대부분 드라이버는 특정 제조사의 특정 제품이나 특정 브랜드를 위해 작성된 드라이버가 아니고, 특정 하드웨어/칩셋에 맞춰 작성되었습니다. 한 개의 하드웨어 설계에 맞춰 여러 개의 제품과 브랜드가 있습니다. 보통 칩 제조사는 <quote>레퍼런스 설계</quote>라는 것을 제공하고, 거기에 맞춰 여러가지 제조사가 여러가지 제품과 브랜드를 만들 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: This has advantages and disadvantages. An advantage is that a driver for one chipset works with lots of different products from different manufacturers, as long as their product is based on the same chipset. The disadvantage is that it is not always easy to see which actual chipset is used in a certain product/brand. Unfortunately sometimes device manufacturers change the hardware base of their product without changing the product name or at least the product version number, so that when having two items of the same brand/product name bought at different times, they can sometimes be based on two different chipsets and therefore use two different drivers or there might be no driver at all for one of them.
ko: 이러한 방식은 장점과 단점이 있습니다. 장점은 한 개의 칩셋 드라이버가, 여러가지 제조사와 여러가지 제품에서 그 칩셋을 계속 사용하는 한 동작한다는 점입니다. 단점은 어떤 제품에 어떤 칩셋이 사용되었는지 정확히 아는 게 쉬운 일만은 아니라는 점입니다. 심지어 장치 제조사는 제품 이름이나 제품 버전을 바꾸지도 않고 하드웨어 구조를 바꿔 버리기도 합니다. 그러므로 시간이 지난 다음에 같은 브랜드나 같은 이름의 제품을 구입하더라도 다른 칩셋을 사용할 수도 있어서 다른 드라이버를 사용해야 하거나, 한 가지 제품만 드라이버가 없을 수도 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: For USB and PCI/PCI-Express/ExpressCard devices, a good way to find out on which chipset they are based is to look at their device IDs. All USB/PCI/PCI-Express/ExpressCard devices have so called <quote>vendor</quote> and <quote>product</quote> IDs, and the combination of these two is usually the same for any product based on the same chipset.
ko: USB 및 PCI/PCI-Express/ExpressCard 장치의 경우, 어떤 칩셋을 사용하고 있는지 알아내는 방법은 장치 아이디를 살펴보는 방법입니다. 모든 USB/PCI/PCI-Express/ExpressCard 장치는 <quote>공급사</quote>와 <quote>제품</quote>마다 아이디가 있고, 이 두 아이디의 조합이 동일하면 같은 칩셋을 사용하는 같은 제품입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: On Linux systems, these IDs can be read with the <command>lsusb</command> command for USB devices and with the <command>lspci -nn</command> command for PCI/PCI-Express/ExpressCard devices. The vendor and product IDs are usually given in the form of two hexadecimal numbers, seperated by a colon, such as <quote>1d6b:0001</quote>.
ko: 리눅스 시스템에서는 이 아이디는 USB 장치의 경우 <command>lsusb</command> 명령, PCI/PCI-Express/ExpressCard 장치는 <command>lspci -nn</command> 명령으로 알아볼 수 있습니다. 공급사와 제품 아이디는 콜론으로 구분한 두 개의 16진수 숫자 형태로(예를 들어 <quote>1d6b:0001</quote>) 주어집니다.

note: Tag: para
en: An example for the output of <command>lsusb</command>: <quote>Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub</quote>, whereby 1d6b is the vendor ID and 0002 is the product ID.
ko: 예를 들어 <command>lsusb</command> 출력은: <quote>Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub</quote> 여기서 1d6b는 공급사 아이디이고 0002는 제품 아이디입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: An example for the output of <command>lspci -nn</command> for an Ethernet card: <quote>03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller [10ec:8168] (rev 06)</quote>. The IDs are given inside the rightmost square brackets, i.e. here 10ec is the vendor- and 8168 is the product ID.
ko: 이더넷 카드의 <command>lspci -nn</command> 출력은: <quote>03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller [10ec:8168] (rev 06)</quote>. 오른쪽의 각괄호 안에 아이디가 있습니다. 즉 10ec가 공급사 아이디이고, 8168이 제품 아이디입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: As another example, a graphics card could give the following output: <quote>04:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV710 [Radeon HD 4350] [1002:954f]</quote>.
ko: 다른 예로 그래픽 카드 출력이 다음과 같을 수도 있습니다: <quote>04:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV710 [Radeon HD 4350] [1002:954f]</quote>.

note: Tag: para
en: On Windows systems, the IDs for a device can be found in the Windows device manager on the tab <quote>details</quote>, where the vendor ID is prefixed with VEN_ and the product ID is prefixed with DEV_. On Windows 7 systems, you have to select the property <quote>Hardware IDs</quote> in the device manager's details tab to actually see the IDs, as they are not displayed by default.
ko: 윈도우 시스템에서는 윈도우 장치 관리자의 <quote>자세히</quote> 탭에서 볼 수 있습니다. 여기에서 공급사 아이디는 앞에 "VEN_"이 붙고, 제품 아이디에는 앞에 "DEV_"이 붙습니다. 윈도우 7 시스템에서는 장치 관리자의 탭에서 기본값으로는 아이디가 표시되지 않고, <quote>하드웨어 ID</quote> 속성을 선택하면 아이디를 볼 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Searching on the internet with the vendor/product ID, <quote>&arch-kernel;</quote> and <quote>driver</quote> as the search terms often results in information regarding the driver support status for a certain chipset. If a search for the vendor/product ID does not yield usable results, a search for the chip code names, which are also often provided by lsusb and lspci (<quote>RTL8111</quote>/<quote>RTL8168B</quote> in the network card example and <quote>RV710</quote> in the graphics card example), can help.
ko: 인터넷에서 공급사/제품 아이디를 검색할 때, 검색어로 <quote>&arch-kernel;</quote> 및 <quote>driver</quote>로 검색하면 드라이버의 특정 칩셋 지원에 관한 정보가 잘 나옵니다. 공급사/제품 아이디로 검색해도 쓸만한 결과가 나오지 않으면, 칩 코드로 검색해 보십시오. 칩 코드는 lsusb 및 lspci로 알 수 있습니다. (예를 들어 네트워크 카드는 <quote>RTL8111</quote>/<quote>RTL8168B</quote>가 있고 그래픽 카드는 <quote>RV710</quote>이 있습니다.)

note: Tag: title
en: Testing hardware compatibility with a Live-System
ko: 라이브 시스템에서 하드웨어 호환성 검사하기

note: Tag: para
en: &debian-gnu; is also available as a so-called <quote>live system</quote> for certain architectures. A live system is a preconfigured ready-to-use system in a compressed format that can be booted and used from a read-only medium like a CD or DVD. Using it by default does not create any permanent changes on your computer. You can change user settings and install additional programs from within the live system, but all this only happens in the computer's RAM, i.e. if you turn off the computer and boot the live system again, everything is reset to its defaults. If you want to see whether your hardware is supported by &debian-gnu;, the easiest way is to run a &debian; live system on it and try it out.
ko: &debian-gnu;는 일부 아키텍처에서는 <quote>라이브 시스템</quote>라고 말하는 방식으로도 사용할 수 있습니다. 라이브 시스템은 CD나 DVD같은 읽기 전용 미디어에서 부팅해 바로 사용할 수 있는 시스템입니다. 이 방식에서는 컴퓨터에 아무 것도 변경하지 않습니다. 라이브 시스템에서 사용자 설정을 바꿀 수도 있고 프로그램을 추가로 설치할 수도 있지만, 컴퓨터의 램 안에서만 벌어지는 일입니다. 즉 컴퓨터를 껐다가 다시 라이브 시스템으로 부팅하면 모조리 기본값으로 초기화됩니다. &debian-gnu;에서 컴퓨터의 하드웨어를 지원하는지 알아볼 때 가장 쉬운 방법은 &debian; 라이브 시스템을 돌려보고 사용해 보는 방법입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: There are a few limitations in using a live system. The first is that as all changes you do within the live system must be held in your computer's RAM, this only works on systems with enough RAM to do that, so installing additional large software packages may fail due to memory constraints. Another limitation with regards to hardware compatibility testing is that the official &debian-gnu; live system contains only free components, i.e. there are no non-free firmware files included in it. Such non-free packages can of course be installed manually within the system, but there is no automatic detection of required firmware files like in the &d-i;, so installation of non-free components must be done manually if needed.
ko: 라이브 시스템은 사용하는데 몇 가지 제약이 있습니다. 첫째는 라이브 시스템에서 안에서 한 작업이 컴퓨터의 램에 들어가기 때문에 램이 충분히 큰 시스템에서만 동작합니다. 그러므로 용량이 큰 소프트웨어를 설치할 경우 메모리 부족으로 실패할 수 있습니다. 하드웨어 호환성 테스트와 관련된 또 제약은 공식 &debian-gnu; 라이브 시스템에는 자유 소프트웨어로만 구성되어 있다는 점입니다. 즉 자유롭지 못한 펌웨어 파일은 들어 있지 않습니다. 그러한 펌웨어 패키지를 수동으로 설치할 수도 있지만, &d-i;와 같은 펌웨어 파일 자동 검색 기능은 없기 때문에 필요할 때마다 수동으로 설치해야 합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Information about the available variants of the &debian; live images can be found at the <ulink url="&url-debian-live-cd;">Debian Live Images website</ulink>.
ko: 사용할 수 있는 &debian; 라이브 이미지의 종류는 <ulink url="&url-debian-live-cd;">데비안 라이브 이미지 웹사이트</ulink>에 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Network Settings
ko: 네트워크 설정

note: Tag: para
en: If your computer is connected to a fixed network (i.e. an Ethernet or equivalent connection &mdash; not a dialup/PPP connection) which is administered by somebody else, you should ask your network's system administrator for this information:
ko: 컴퓨터가 다른 누군가가 관리하고 있는 고정된 네트워크에 연결되어 있다면(이더넷이나 비슷한 연결의 경우, 전화접속이나 PPP는 아님), 네트워크 시스템 관리자에게 이러한 정보를 알아봐야 합니다:

note: Tag: para
en: Your host name (you may be able to decide this on your own).
ko: 호스트 이름(직접 정할 수도 있습니다).

note: Tag: para
en: Your domain name.
ko: 도메인 이름.

note: Tag: para
en: Your computer's IP address.
ko: 컴퓨터의 IP 주소.

note: Tag: para
en: The netmask to use with your network.
ko: 네트워크에 사용할 네트마스크.

note: Tag: para
en: The IP address of the default gateway system you should route to, if your network <emphasis>has</emphasis> a gateway.
ko: 라우팅하는 데 쓸 기본 게이트웨이 시스템의 IP 주소(게이트웨이가 <emphasis>있는 경우</emphasis>).

note: Tag: para
en: The system on your network that you should use as a DNS (Domain Name Service) server.
ko: 네트워크에서 DNS (Domain Name Service) 서버로 사용할 시스템.

note: Tag: para
en: If the network you are connected to uses DHCP (Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol) for configuring network settings, you don't need this information because the DHCP server will provide it directly to your computer during the installation process.
ko: 연결된 네트워크가 네트워크 설정에 DHCP(Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol)를 사용한다면 이 정보가 필요 없습니다. 설치할 때 DHCP 서버에서 컴퓨터로 이 정보를 알려줍니다.

note: Tag: para
en: If you have internet access via DSL or cable modem (i.e. over a cable tv network) and have a router (often provided preconfigured by your phone or catv provider) which handles your network connectivity, DHCP is usually available by default.
ko: DSL이나 케이블 모뎀을(예를 들어 케이블 TV 네트워크를 통해) 통해 인터넷을 사용하고 라우터가(보통 전화 또는 케이블 사업자가 설정한 상태로 설치됩니다) 네트워크 연결을 처리하는 경우, 보통 DHCP를 사용할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: As a rule of thumb: if you run a Windows system in your home network and did not have to manually perform any network settings there to achieve Internet access, network connectivity in &debian-gnu; will also be configured automatically.
ko: 한 가지 규칙은 다음과 같습니다. 홈 네트워크에 윈도우 시스템이 있는데 인터넷에 연결하는데 수동으로 네트워크 설정을 할 필요가 없었다면, &debian-gnu;의 네트워크 연결도 마찬가지로 자동으로 설정됩니다.

note: Tag: para
en: If you use a WLAN/WiFi network, you should find out:
ko: 무선랜/와이파이 네트워크를 사용한다면, 다음을 알아봐야 합니다:

note: Tag: para
en: The ESSID (<quote>network name</quote>) of your wireless network.
ko: 무선 네트워크의 ESSID(<quote>네트워크 이름</quote>).

note: Tag: para
en: The WEP or WPA/WPA2 security key to access the network (if applicable).
ko: 이 네트워크에 연결할 때 사용할 WEP 또는 WPA/WPA2 보안 키(보안 키를 사용하는 경우).

note: Tag: title
en: Meeting Minimum Hardware Requirements
ko: 최소 하드웨어 요구 사항 맞추기

note: Tag: para
en: Once you have gathered information about your computer's hardware, check that your hardware will let you do the type of installation that you want to do.
ko: 컴퓨터의 하드웨어에 대한 정보를 모았으면, 설치하려는 방법대로 그 하드웨어에서 설치할 수 있는 지 확인하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Depending on your needs, you might manage with less than some of the recommended hardware listed in the table below. However, most users risk being frustrated if they ignore these suggestions.
ko: 필요에 따라서는, 아래의 표에 나온 하드웨어보다 성능이 떨어지는 하드웨어로도 설치할 수 있을 수도 있습니다. 하지만 아래 제안을 무시할 경우 대부분 사용자는 짜증나는 문제를 겪게 됩니다.

note: Tag: para
en: A Pentium 4, 1GHz system is the minimum recommended for a desktop system.
ko: 데스크톱 시스템 용도로 최소 펜티엄 4 1GHz 시스템을 추천합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Any OldWorld or NewWorld PowerPC can serve well as a desktop system.
ko: 모든 올드월드 혹은 뉴월드 PowerPC는 데스크톱 시스템으로 쓸 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Recommended Minimum System Requirements
ko: 추천하는 최소 시스템 요구사항

note: Tag: entry
en: Install Type
ko: 설치 종류

note: Tag: entry
en: RAM (minimum)
ko: 램(최소)

note: Tag: entry
en: RAM (recommended)
ko: 램(추천)

note: Tag: entry
en: Hard Drive
ko: 하드 드라이브

note: Tag: entry
en: No desktop
ko: 데스크톱 없음

note: Tag: entry
en: 128 megabytes
ko: 128 메가바이트

note: Tag: entry
en: 512 megabytes
ko: 512메가바이트

note: Tag: entry
en: 2 gigabytes
ko: 2기가바이트

note: Tag: entry
en: With Desktop
ko: 데스크톱 포함

note: Tag: entry
en: 256 megabytes
ko: 256메가바이트

note: Tag: entry
en: 1 gigabyte
ko: 1기가바이트

note: Tag: entry
en: 10 gigabytes
ko: 10기가바이트

note: Tag: para
en: The actual minimum memory requirements are a lot less than the numbers listed in this table. Depending on the architecture, it is possible to install &debian; with as little as 60MB (for amd64). The same goes for the disk space requirements, especially if you pick and choose which applications to install; see <xref linkend="tasksel-size-list"/> for additional information on disk space requirements.
ko: 실제로 필요한 최소 메모리는 이 표에 나와 있는 숫자보다 훨씬 적습니다. 아키텍처에 따라 다르지만 최소 60MB에서 (amd64의 경우) &debian;을 설치할 수 있습니다. 필요한 디스크 공간도 마찬가지입니다. 특히, 설치할 프로그램을 선택하면 필요한 디스크 공간에 대한 추가 정보는 <xref linkend="tasksel-size-list"/>를 참조하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: It is possible to run a graphical desktop environment on older or low-end systems, but in that case it is recommended to install a window manager that is less resource-hungry than those of the GNOME or KDE Plasma desktop environments; alternatives include <classname>xfce4</classname>, <classname>icewm</classname> and <classname>wmaker</classname>, but there are others to choose from.
ko: 성능이 낮은 오래된 시스템에도 그래픽 데스크톱 환경을 설치할 수 있지만, 그놈이나 KDE 플라즈마 데스크톱 환경을 설치하지 말고 리소스를 적게 차지하는 윈도우 매니저를 설치하길 권장합니다. 예를 들어 <classname>xfce4</classname>, <classname>icewm</classname>, <classname>wmaker</classname> 등 기타 여러가지가 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: It is practically impossible to give general memory or disk space requirements for server installations as those very much depend on what the server is to be used for.
ko: 서버로 설치할 경우 필요한 메모리나 디스크 공간을 예측하기는 사실상 불가능합니다. 그 서버가 어떤 용도로 사용하느냐에 따라 많이 달라지기 때문입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Remember that these sizes don't include all the other materials which are usually to be found, such as user files, mail, and data. It is always best to be generous when considering the space for your own files and data.
ko: 여기 나와 있는 크기는 사용자 파일, 메일, 데이터 등과 같은 데이터는 포함하지 않은 숫자입니다. 사용자의 파일 및 데이터가 차지하는 공간을 잡을 때는 넉넉하게 잡는 게 좋습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Disk space required for the smooth operation of the &debian-gnu; system itself is taken into account in these recommended system requirements. Notably, the <filename>/var</filename> partition contains a lot of state information specific to &debian; in addition to its regular contents, like logfiles. The <command>dpkg</command> files (with information on all installed packages) can easily consume 40MB. Also, <command>apt</command> puts downloaded packages here before they are installed. You should usually allocate at least 200MB for <filename>/var</filename>, and a lot more if you install a graphical desktop environment.
ko: &debian-gnu; 시스템을 원활히 동작시키는 데 필요한 디스크 공간은 권장 시스템 요구 사항에 반영되어 있습니다. 특히, <filename>/var</filename> 파티션에 로그 파일 같은 일반적인 내용뿐만 아니라 &debian; 특유의 상태 정보가 들어 있습니다. <command>dpkg</command> 파일은(설치 패키지에 대한 정보) 쉽게 40MB를 차지합니다. 또한 <command>apt</command>는 설치하기 전에 다운로드한 패키지를 여기에 놓습니다. <filename>/var</filename>에 최소 200MB를 할당해야만 합니다. 그리고 그래픽 데스크톱 환경을 설치하는 경우에는 더 할당 할 것입니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Pre-Partitioning for Multi-Boot Systems
ko: 멀티 부팅 시스템에서 미리 파티션하기

note: Tag: para
en: Partitioning your disk simply refers to the act of breaking up your disk into sections. Each section is then independent of the others. It's roughly equivalent to putting up walls inside a house; if you add furniture to one room it doesn't affect any other room.
ko: 디스크 파티션은 디스크를 여러 개의 조각으로 나누는 작업을 말합니다. 각각의 조각은 다른 조각과 독립적입니다. 비유 하자면 집에 벽을 놓는 것과 비슷합니다. 어떤 방에 가구를 놓는다고 해서 다른 방에 영향을 끼치지 않습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Whenever this section talks about <quote>disks</quote> you should translate this into a DASD or VM minidisk in the &arch-title; world. Also a machine means an LPAR or VM guest in this case.
ko: 여기서 <quote>디스크</quote>에 관해 이야기할 때에는, &arch-title;에 있는 DASD나 VM 미니디스크로 해석해야 합니다. 또 이 경우 컴퓨터라고 할 때는 LPAR이나 VM guest를 말합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: If you already have an operating system on your system <phrase arch="any-x86"> (Windows 9x, Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista/7, OS/2, MacOS, Solaris, FreeBSD, &hellip;) </phrase> <phrase arch="s390"> (VM, z/OS, OS/390, &hellip;) </phrase> which uses the whole disk and you want to stick &debian; on the same disk, you will need to repartition it. &debian; requires its own hard disk partitions. It cannot be installed on Windows or Mac OS X partitions. It may be able to share some partitions with other Unix systems, but that's not covered here. At the very least you will need a dedicated partition for the &debian; root filesystem.
ko: 시스템에 이미 다른 운영 체제<phrase arch="any-x86">(Windows 9x, Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista/7, OS/2, MacOS, Solaris, FreeBSD, &hellip;)</phrase><phrase arch="s390">(VM, z/OS, OS/390, &hellip;)</phrase>가 전체 디스크를 차지하고 있으면서, 같은 디스크에 &debian;도 설치하려는 경우에는 디스크 파티션 분할을 다시 시작해야합니다. &debian;은 Windows나 맥오에스 파티션에 설치할 수 없습니다. 다른 Unix 시스템과는 일부 파티션을 공유할 수 있을지도 모르지만, 여기에서는 다루지 않습니다. 적어도 &debian;의 root에 사용할 전용 파티션이 필요합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: You can find information about your current partition setup by using a partitioning tool for your current operating system<phrase arch="any-x86">, such as the integrated Disk Manager in Windows or fdisk in DOS</phrase><phrase arch="powerpc">, such as Disk Utility, Drive Setup, HD Toolkit, or MacTools</phrase><phrase arch="s390">, such as the VM diskmap</phrase>. Partitioning tools always provide a way to show existing partitions without making changes.
ko: 현재 파티션 상태 정보는 현재 운영 체제의 파티션 프로그램을 이용해 알 수 있습니다. <phrase arch="any-x86">윈도우의 내장 디스크 관리자 또는 DOS의 fdisk</phrase><phrase arch="powerpc">, Disk Utility, Drive Setup, HD Toolkit, MacTools</phrase><phrase arch="s390">, VM diskmap</phrase> 같은 프로그램이 있습니다. 파티션하는 프로그램은 파티션을 바꾸지 않고도 현재 파티션을 표시하는 기능이 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: In general, changing a partition with a file system already on it will destroy any information there. Thus you should always make backups before doing any repartitioning. Using the analogy of the house, you would probably want to move all the furniture out of the way before moving a wall or you risk destroying it.
ko: 이미 파일 시스템이 들어 있는 파티션을 바꾸면 보통 거기에 들어 있는 정보가 모두 망가집니다. 그러므로 파티션 작업을 하기 하기 전에 항상 백업을 만들어야 합니다. 집의 경우에 비유하자면, 벽을 옮기기 전에 모든 가구를 다른 곳에 옮겨 놓아야 가구가 망가지지 않을 겁니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Several modern operating systems offer the ability to move and resize certain existing partitions without destroying their contents. This allows making space for additional partitions without losing existing data. Even though this works quite well in most cases, making changes to the partitioning of a disk is an inherently dangerous action and should only be done after having made a full backup of all data. <phrase arch="any-x86">For FAT/FAT32 and NTFS partitions as used by DOS and Windows systems, the ability to move and resize them losslessly is provided both by &d-i; as well as by the integrated Disk Manager of Windows 7. </phrase>
ko: 최근의 몇몇 운영 체제에는 파티션 내용을 망가뜨리지 않고도 파티션의 위치를 옮기거나 크기를 바꾸는 기능이 있습니다. 이 기능을 이용해 데이터를 잃지 않고도 파티션을 만드는데 필요한 공간을 만들 수 있습니다. 대부분의 경우 이 기능은 잘 동작하지만 디스크 파티션을 변경하는 작업은 본래 위험한 작업이므로 데이터를 모두 백업한 다음 진행해야 합니다. <phrase arch="any-x86">DOS 및 윈도우 시스템에서 사용하는 FAT/FAT32 및 NTFS 파티션의 경우, 손실 없이 파티션을 옮기고 크기를 바꾸는 기능은 &d-i;에도 있고 윈도우 7의 내장 디스크 관리자에도 있습니다.</phrase>

note: Tag: para
en: To losslessly resize an existing FAT or NTFS partition from within &d-i;, go to the partitioning step, select the option for manual partitioning, select the partition to resize, and simply specify its new size.
ko: &d-i;에서 데이터 손실 없이 기존 FAT이나 NTFS 파티션의 크기를 바꾸려면, 파티션하기 단계로 가서, 수동 파티션 옵션을 선택하고, 크기를 바꿀 파티션을 고른 다음, 새 크기를 지정하면 됩니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Creating and deleting partitions can be done from within &d-i; as well as from an existing operating system. As a rule of thumb, partitions should be created by the system for which they are to be used, i.e. partitions to be used by &debian-gnu; should be created from within &d-i; and partitions to be used from another operating system should be created from there. &d-i; is capable of creating non-&arch-kernel; partitions, and partitions created this way usually work without problems when used in other operating systems, but there are a few rare corner cases in which this could cause problems, so if you want to be sure, use the native partitioning tools to create partitions for use by other operating systems.
ko: &d-i;에서 파티션을 만들고 삭제하는 일은 &d-i;에서도 할 수 있고 기존 운영 체제에서도 할 수 있습니다. 한 가지 지켜야 할 규칙은, 해당 파티션을 사용하는 시스템에서 파티션을 만들도록 하십시오. 예를 들어 &debian-gnu;에서 사용할 파티션은 &d-i; 안에서 만들고, 다른 운영 체제에서 사용할 파티션은 그 운영 체제 안에서 만듭니다. &d-i;에서는 &arch-kernel;이 아닌 파티션도 만들 수 있고, 이렇게 만든 파티션도 다른 운영 체제에서 잘 동작합니다. 하지만 드물게 이것 때문에 문제가 발생하는 경우가 있습니다. 그러므로 확실히 하려면 다른 운영 체제가 사용하는 파티션은 그 운영 체제의 자체 파티션 프로그램을 사용해 만드십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: If you are going to install more than one operating system on the same machine, you should install all other system(s) before proceeding with the &debian; installation. Windows and other OS installations may destroy your ability to start &debian;, or encourage you to reformat non-native partitions.
ko: 같은 컴퓨터에 여러 개의 OS를 설치하려는 경우, &debian;을 설치하기 전에 다른 OS를 먼저 설치하고 둡시다. Windows 등의 다른 OS를 설치하면 &debian;을 시작하는 기능이 파괴되어 버리거나, 혹은 그 OS의 파티션이 아닌 파티션을 다시 포맷하라고 할 수도 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: You can recover from these actions or avoid them, but installing the native system first saves you trouble.
ko: 이렇게 되더라도 복구할 수도 있고, 이렇게 되지 않도록 피할 수도 있습니다. 하지만 원래 운영 체제를 먼저 설치하면 이런 문제가 없습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: In order for OpenFirmware to automatically boot &debian-gnu; the &arch-parttype; partitions should appear before all other partitions on the disk, especially Mac OS X boot partitions. This should be kept in mind when pre-partitioning; you should create a &arch-parttype; placeholder partition to come <emphasis>before</emphasis> the other bootable partitions on the disk. (The small partitions dedicated to Apple disk drivers are not bootable.) You can delete the placeholder with the &debian; partition tools later during the actual install, and replace it with &arch-parttype; partitions.
ko: OpenFirmware에 &debian-gnu;을 자동으로 시작하려면 &arch-parttype; 파티션을 다른 OS의 파티션(특히 맥오에스 부팅 파티션)보다 디스크의 위쪽에 둬야 합니다. 사전 파티션할 때 다음을 염두에 두고 봅시다. &arch-parttype;용으로 사용 위치를 파티션이 들어갈 파티션을 다른 부팅 파티션보다 디스크 <emphasis>앞부분</emphasis>에 만들어야합니다(애플 디스크 드라이버 전용 작은 파티션은 부팅 가능하지 않습니다). 이 위치에 파티션은 실제로 설치 때 &debian; 파티션 도구에서 제거하고 실제 &arch-parttype; 파티션 바꿀 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Partitioning from SunOS
ko: SunOS에서 파티션하기

note: Tag: para
en: It's perfectly fine to partition from SunOS; in fact, if you intend to run both SunOS and &debian; on the same machine, it is recommended that you partition using SunOS prior to installing &debian;. The Linux kernel understands Sun disk labels, so there are no problems there. SILO supports booting Linux and SunOS from any of EXT2 (Linux), UFS (SunOS), romfs or iso9660 (CDROM) partitions.
ko: SunOS에서 파티션하는 건 문제가 없습니다. 동일한 컴퓨터에 SunOS와 &debian;을 운용하는 경우 &debian;을 설치하기 전에 SunOS에서 파티션을 만들어 두는 것이 좋습니다. Linux 커널은 Sun 디스크 레이블을 인식하기 때문에 이 방법으로 문제 없습니다. SILO는 EXT2 (Linux), UFS (SunOS), romfs 및 iso9660 (CDROM) 중 하나의 파티션에서 Linux와 SunOS 부팅을 지원합니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Partitioning from Linux or another OS
ko: 리눅스 및 그 밖의 OS에서 파티션하기

note: Tag: para
en: Whatever system you are using to partition, make sure you create a <quote>Sun disk label</quote> on your boot disk. This is the only kind of partition scheme that the OpenBoot PROM understands, and so it's the only scheme from which you can boot. In <command>fdisk</command>, the <keycap>s</keycap> key is used to create Sun disk labels. You only need to do this on drives that do not already have a Sun disk label. If you are using a drive that was previously formatted using a PC (or other architecture) you must create a new disk label, or problems with the disk geometry will most likely occur.
ko: 파티션할 때 어떤 시스템을 사용하든 간에, 부팅 디스크에 <quote>Sun 디스크 레이블</quote>을 만들도록 하십시오. OpenBoot PROM이 이해하는 유일한 파티션 방식이고, 그래서 부팅할 수 있는 유일한 방식입니다. <command>fdisk</command>에서, <keycap>s</keycap> 키를 누르면 Sun 디스크 레이블을 만들 수 있습니다. Sun 디스크 레이블이 없는 드라이브의 경우에만 레이블을 새로 만들어야 합니다. PC에서(아니면 다른 아키텍처에서) 포맷한 드라이브가 있다면 새로운 디스크 레이블을 만들어야 하고, 아니면 디스크 크기에 관련한 오류가 발생할 수도 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: You will probably be using <command>SILO</command> as your boot loader (the small program which runs the operating system kernel). <command>SILO</command> has certain requirements for partition sizes and location; see <xref linkend="partitioning"/>.
ko: 부트로더(운영 체제 커널을 실행하는 작은 프로그램)로 <command>SILO</command>를 사용합니다. <command>SILO</command>를 쓰려면 파티션 크기와 위치에 대해 엄격한 제한이 있습니다. <xref linkend="partitioning"/> 부분을 참고하십시오.

note: Tag: title
en: Mac OS X Partitioning
ko: 맥오에스 X 파티션하기

note: Tag: para
en: The <application>Disk Utility</application> application can be found under the <filename>Utilities</filename> menu in Mac OS X Installer. It will not adjust existing partitions; it is limited to partitioning the entire disk at once.
ko: 맥오에스 설치의 <filename>Utilities</filename> 메뉴 아래에 <application>Disk Utility</application> 프로그램이 있습니다. 이 프로그램은 기존 파티션을 조정하지 않고, 전체 디스크를 한 번에 파티션하는 데만 쓸 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Remember to create a placeholder partition for GNU/Linux, preferably positioned first in the disk layout. it doesn't matter what type it is, it will be deleted and replaced later inside the &debian-gnu; installer.
ko: GNU/리눅스가 들어갈 위치에 공간을 차지하는 파티션을 만들도록 하십시오. 가능하면 디스크에서 첫번째에 놓으십시오. 파티션 종류는 중요하지 않습니다. &debian-gnu; 설치 프로그램에서 나중에 그 파티션을 지워서 다른 파티션으로 바꾸게 됩니다.

note: Tag: para
en: &debian; installer partition table editing tools are compatible with OS X, but not with MacOS 9. If you are planning to use both MacOS 9 and OS X, it is best to install OS X and &debian; on one hard drive, and put MacOS 9 on a separate hard drive. Separate options for OS 9 and OS X will appear when holding the <keycap>option</keycap> key at boot time, and separate options can be installed in the <application>yaboot</application> boot menu as well.
ko: &debian; 설치 프로그램의 파티션 테이블 편집 도구는 OS X과 호환되지만, 맥오에스 9과는 호환되지 않습니다. 맥오에스 9과 OS X을 모두 사용하려면 OS X과 &debian;을 한 하드디스크에 설치하고 MacOS 9을 별도 하드디스크에 설치하는 게 가장 좋은 방법입니다. 부팅할 때 <keycap>option</keycap> 키를 눌렀을 때 OS 9과 OS X에 대해 다른 옵션이 나타나고, <application>yaboot</application> 부팅 메뉴에도 다른 옵션을 설치할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: GNU/Linux is unable to access information on UFS partitions, but can access HFS+ (aka MacOS Extended) partitions. OS X requires one of these two types for its boot partition. MacOS 9 can be installed on either HFS (aka MacOS Standard) or HFS+. To share information between the Mac OS X and GNU/Linux systems, an exchange partition is handy. HFS, HFS+ and MS-DOS FAT file systems are supported by MacOS 9, Mac OS X and GNU/Linux.
ko: GNU/리눅스는 UFS 파티션에 있는 정보에 접근할 수 없지만 HFS+(다른 말로 MacOS Extended) 파티션에는 접근할 수 있습니다. OS X은 부팅 파티션에 이 두가지 중의 하나의 파일 시스템을 써야 합니다. 맥오에스 9은 HFS에(다른 말로 MacOS Standard) 설치할 수도 있고 HFS+에 설치할 수도 있습니다. 맥오에스와 GNU/리눅스 시스템 사이에 정보를 공유하려면, 데이터 교환용 파티션을 만드는 게 편리합니다. HFS, HFS+와 MS-DOS FAT 파티션은 맥오에스와 리눅스 모두에서 지원합니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Pre-Installation Hardware and Operating System Setup
ko: 설치하기 전에 할 하드웨어 및 운영 체제 설정

note: Tag: para
en: This section will walk you through pre-installation hardware setup, if any, that you will need to do prior to installing &debian;. Generally, this involves checking and possibly changing BIOS/system firmware settings for your system. The <quote>BIOS</quote> or <quote>system firmware</quote> is the core software used by the hardware; it is most critically invoked during the bootstrap process (after power-up).
ko: 이 절에서는 &debian; 설치에 앞서 필요한 하드웨어 설정에 대해 알아보겠습니다. 일반적으로 이 작업은 BIOS나 시스템 펌웨어 설정을 확인하고 필요하다면 설정을 변경하는 작업입니다. <quote>BIOS</quote> 또는 <quote>시스템 펌웨어</quote>는 하드웨어가 사용하는 핵심 소프트웨어로, 전원을 켠 다음에 부팅 과정 동안에 시작되는 가장 중요한 소프트웨어입니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Invoking the BIOS Set-Up Menu
ko: BIOS 설정 메뉴 들어가기

note: Tag: para
en: The BIOS provides the basic functions needed to boot your machine and to allow your operating system to access your hardware. Your system provides a BIOS setup menu, which is used to configure the BIOS. To enter the BIOS setup menu you have to press a key or key combination after turning on the computer. Often it is the <keycap>Delete</keycap> or the <keycap>F2</keycap> key, but some manufacturers use other keys. Usually upon starting the computer there will be a message stating which key to press to enter the setup screen.
ko: BIOS는 컴퓨터가 부팅하는데 기본적인 기능이 들어 있고, 운영체제에서 하드웨어에 접근할 때도 사용합니다. 설치하려는 시스템에도 BIOS 설정 메뉴가 있어서 거기에서 BIOS 설정을 할 수 있습니다. BIOS 설정 메뉴에 들어가려면 컴퓨터를 켠 다음 일정한 키나 키 조합을 눌러야 합니다. 보통 <keycap>Delete</keycap>나 <keycap>F2</keycap> 키이지만, 제조사에 따라 다른 키일 수도 있습니다. 보통 컴퓨터 부팅할 때 어떤 키를 눌러야 설정 메뉴로 들어가는지 메시지를 표시합니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Boot Device Selection
ko: 부팅 장치 선택

note: Tag: para
en: Within the BIOS setup menu, you can select which devices shall be checked in which sequence for a bootable operating system. Possible choices usually include the internal harddisks, the CD/DVD-ROM drive and USB mass storage devices such as USB sticks or external USB harddisks. On modern systems there is also often a possibility to enable network booting via PXE.
ko: BIOS 설정 메뉴 안에서 부팅 가능 운영 체제를 검사하는 저장 장치 순서를 선택할 수 있습니다. 보통 내장 하드디스크, CD/DVD-ROM 드라이브, USB 저장 장치(USB 메모리나 외부 USB 하드 디스크 따위) 같은 장치를 말합니다. 최근 시스템에서는 PXE를 통해 네트워크 부팅을 할 수도 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Depending on the installation media (CD/DVD ROM, USB stick, network boot) you have chosen you should enable the appropriate boot devices if they are not already enabled.
ko: 설치 미디어에 따라서(CD/DVD ROM, USB 메모리, 네트워크 부팅) 필요한 부팅 장치를 사용할 수 있게 설정해야 할 수도 있습니다. (이미 설정되어 있지 않다면.)

note: Tag: para
en: Most BIOS versions allow you to call up a boot menu on system startup in which you select from which device the computer should start for the current session. If this option is available, the BIOS usually displays a short message like <quote>press <keycap>F12</keycap> for boot menu</quote> on system startup. The actual key used to select this menu varies from system to system; commonly used keys are <keycap>F12</keycap>, <keycap>F11</keycap> and <keycap>F8</keycap>. Choosing a device from this menu does not change the default boot order of the BIOS, i.e. you can start once from a USB stick while having configured the internal harddisk as the normal primary boot device.
ko: 대부분의 BIOS에서는 이 세션에서는 어떤 장치로 부팅할지 선택할 수 있는 부팅 메뉴를 실행할 수 있습니다. 이 옵션을 사용할 수 있는 경우 <quote>press <keycap>F12</keycap> for boot menu</quote>와 같은 짤막한 메시지를 표시합니다. 이 메뉴를 선택하는 실제 키는 시스템에 따라 다를 수도 있습니다. <keycap>F12</keycap>, <keycap>F11</keycap>, <keycap>F8</keycap>을 가장 많이 사용합니다. 이 메뉴에서 장치를 선택해도 BIOS의 기본 부팅 순서를 바꾸지는 않습니다. 다시 말해 내부 하드 디스크가 기본 부팅 장치로 설정된 상태에서도 USB 메모리에서 한 번 부팅할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: If your BIOS does not provide you with a boot menu to do ad-hoc choices of the current boot device, you will have to change your BIOS setup to make the device from which the &d-i; shall be booted the primary boot device.
ko: BIOS에 현재 부팅 메뉴를 임시로 설정할 수 있는 부팅 메뉴가 없으면, BIOS 설정을 바꿔서 &d-i;가 부팅할 장치를 기본 부팅 장치로 만들어야 합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Unfortunately some computers contain buggy BIOS versions. Booting &d-i; from a USB stick might not work even if there is an appropriate option in the BIOS setup menu and the stick is selected as the primary boot device. On some of these systems using a USB stick as boot medium is impossible; others can be tricked into booting from the stick by changing the device type in the BIOS setup from the default <quote>USB harddisk</quote> or <quote>USB stick</quote> to <quote>USB ZIP</quote> or <quote>USB CDROM</quote>. <phrase condition="isohybrid-supported"> In particular if you use an isohybrid CD/DVD image on a USB stick (see <xref linkend="usb-copy-isohybrid"/>), changing the device type to <quote>USB CDROM</quote> helps on some BIOSes which will not boot from a USB stick in USB harddisk mode.</phrase> You may need to configure your BIOS to enable <quote>USB legacy support</quote>.
ko: 아쉽게도 일부 컴퓨터의 BIOS는 부팅 관련 버그가 있습니다. BIOS 설정 메뉴에서 필요한 옵션을 넣고, USB 메모리를 부팅 장치로 설정하지 않으면 USB 메모리에서 &d-i;가 부팅하지 않을 수도 있습니다. 이러한 시스템 중 일부는 USB 메모리로 부팅이 불가능하기도 합니다. 어떤 경우 BIOS 설정에서 장치 종류를 기본 <quote>USB harddisk</quote>나 <quote>USB stick</quote>에서 <quote>USB ZIP</quote>이나 <quote>USB CDROM</quote>으로 바꾸는 방법으로 속이면 부팅하기도 합니다. <phrase condition="isohybrid-supported">isohybrid CD/DVD 이미지를 USB 메모리에서 사용하는 경우(<xref linkend="usb-copy-isohybrid"/> 참고), 장치 종류를 <quote>USB CDROM</quote>으로 바꾸면 USB 하드디스크 모드에서 부팅하지 않는 USB 메모리가 부팅할 수도 있습니다..</phrase> BIOS에서 <quote>USB legacy support</quote>를 설정해야 할 수도 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: If you cannot manipulate the BIOS to boot directly from a USB stick you still have the option of using an ISO copied to the stick. Boot &d-i; using <xref linkend="boot-drive-files"/> and, after scanning the hard drives for an installer ISO image, select the USB device and choose an installation image.
ko: BIOS에서 USB 메모리로 직접 부팅하게 설정할 수 없는 경우에도, USB 메모리에 복사한 ISO를 사용할 수 있습니다. <xref linkend="boot-drive-files"/> 방법으로 &d-i;를 시작하고, 설치 ISO 이미지에 대해 하드디스크를 검사한 다음, USB 장치를 선택해 설치 이미지를 고릅니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Invoking OpenFirmware
ko: OpenFirmware 실행

note: Tag: para
en: There is normally no need to set up the BIOS (called OpenFirmware) on &arch-title; systems. PReP and CHRP are equipped with OpenFirmware, but unfortunately, the means you use to invoke it vary from manufacturer to manufacturer. You'll have to consult the hardware documentation which came with your machine.
ko: &arch-title; 시스템에서는 BIOS(OpenFirmware)를 설정할 필요가 없습니다. PReP 및 CHRP는 OpenFirmware가 들어 있지만, 아쉽게도 그 때문에 각 제조사마다 OpenFirmware 실행 방법이 다릅니다. 컴퓨터에 들어 있는 하드웨어 문서를 참고하셔야 합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: On &arch-title; Macintoshes, you invoke OpenFirmware with <keycombo><keycap>Command (cloverleaf/Apple)</keycap><keycap>Option</keycap><keycap>o</keycap><keycap>f</keycap></keycombo> while booting. Generally it will check for these keystrokes after the chime, but the exact timing varies from model to model. See <ulink url="&url-netbsd-powerpc-faq;"></ulink> for more hints.
ko: &arch-title; 매킨토시에서는, 부팅할 때 <keycombo><keycap>Command(클로버잎/사과 모양)</keycap><keycap>Option</keycap><keycap>o</keycap><keycap>f</keycap></keycombo> 키를 눌러 OpenFirmware를 시작합니다. 보통 삐 소리가 난 다음에 이 키가 눌렸는 지 검사하지만, 정확한 타이밍은 여러 모델마다 다릅니다. 더 많은 힌트는 <ulink url="&url-netbsd-powerpc-faq;"></ulink>의 내용을 참고하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: The OpenFirmware prompt looks like this: <informalexample><screen>
    ok
    0 &gt;
    </screen></informalexample> Note that on older model &arch-title; Macs, the default and sometimes hardwired I/O for OpenFirmware user interaction is through the serial (modem) port. If you invoke OpenFirmware on one of these machines, you will just see a black screen. In that case, a terminal program running on another computer, connected to the modem port, is needed to interact with OpenFirmware.
ko: OpenFirmware 프롬프트는 다음과 같습니다: <informalexample><screen>
    ok
    0 &gt;
    </screen></informalexample> 오래된 모델의 &arch-title; 맥에서는, OpenFirmware의 사용자 입출력은 기본값이(혹은 고정된 값이) 시리얼(모뎀) 포트입니다. 이러한 컴퓨터에서 OpenFirmware를 실행한 경우, 검은 화면만 보게 될 것입니다. 이 경우 다른 컴퓨터에서 터미널 프로그램을 실행해 모뎀 포트에 연결해야 OpenFirmware를 쓸 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The OpenFirmware on OldWorld Beige G3 machines, OF versions 2.0f1 and 2.4, is broken. These machines will most likely not be able to boot from the hard drive unless the firmware is patched. A firmware patch is included in the <application>System Disk 2.3.1</application> utility, available from Apple at <ulink url="ftp://ftp.apple.com/developer/macosxserver/utilities/SystemDisk2.3.1.smi.bin"></ulink>. After unpacking the utility in MacOS, and launching it, select the <guibutton>Save</guibutton> button to have the firmware patches installed to nvram.
ko: 올드월드 Beige G3 컴퓨터의 OpenFirmware, OF 2.0f1 및 2.4 버전은 심각한 문제가 있습니다. 이 컴퓨터에서는 펌웨어를 패치해야 하드 드라이브에서 부팅할 수 있습니다. 펌웨어 패치는 <application>System Disk 2.3.1</application> 유틸리티에 들어 있고, 애플의 <ulink url="ftp://ftp.apple.com/developer/macosxserver/utilities/SystemDisk2.3.1.smi.bin"></ulink>에서 구할 수 있습니다. 맥오에스에서 이 유틸리티의 압축을 풀고, 실행한 다음, <guibutton>Save</guibutton> 단추를 눌러 펌웨어 패치를 nvram에 설치하십시오.

note: Tag: title
en: How to update bare metal ppc64el firmware
ko: 초기 상태의 ppc64el 펌웨어 업데이트하는 방법

note: Tag: para
en: This is an excerpt from <ulink url="&url-ibm-powerkvm;">IBM PowerKVM on IBM POWER8</ulink>.
ko: <ulink url="&url-ibm-powerkvm;">IBM PowerKVM on IBM POWER8</ulink> 페이지에 설명이 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Open Power Abstraction Layer (OPAL) is the system firmware in the stack of POWER processor-based server.
ko: OPAL(Open Power Abstraction Layer)은 POWER 프로세서 기반 서버에서 사용하는 시스템 펌웨어입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: There may be instances when the user might have to upgrade the Power Systems firmware to a more recent level to acquire new features or additional support for devices.
ko: 경우에 따라 Power System 펌웨어를 최근 단계로 업그레이드해야 새로운 기능이나 추가 기능을 이용할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Make sure that the following requirements are met:
ko: 먼저 다음 요구사항을 만족하도록 하십시오:

note: Tag: para
en: an OS to be running on the system;
ko: 시스템에서 동작하고 있는 운영 체제.

note: Tag: para
en: the .img file of the OPAL level that the user needs to update to;
ko: 사용자가 업데이트해야 하는 OPAL 레벨의 .img 파일.

note: Tag: para
en: the machine isn't under HMC control.
ko: 시스템이 HMC 컨트롤에 놓이지 않도록.

note: Tag: para
en: Power Systems has two sides of flash to boot firmware from, namely permanent and temporary. This provides a way to test firmware updates on the temporary side of the flash before committing the tested changes to the permanent side, thereby committing the new updates.
ko: Power 시스템은 펌웨어를 부팅하는 플래시가 두 위치가 있습니다. 하나는 영구적인 위치이고 하나는 임시 위치입니다. 이를 이용해 펌웨어를 임시 위치에서 테스트하고, 그 다음에 테스트한 변경 사항을 영구 위치에 적용합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Perform the following steps for the update:
ko: 다음 단계를 통해 업데이트합니다:

note: Tag: para
en: Save the level of the existing firmware before really updating. In ASM, in the system menu, click <command>Service Aids -&gt; Service Processor Command Line</command>, and run the following command:
ko: 실제 업데이트하기 전에 현재 펌웨어의 단계를 저장합니다. 시스템 메뉴의 ASM에서 <command>Service Aids -&gt; Service Processor Command Line</command>를 누르고 다음 명령을 실행합니다:

note: Tag: para
en: Download the .img file of the level of firmware to be updated to a location in the host filesystem. Refer to <ulink url="&url-ibm-fixcentral;">IBM Fix Central</ulink> for downloading the image file.
ko: 호스트 파일 시스템의 위치에 업데이트할 레벨의 펌웨어 .img 파일을 다운로드하십시오. 이미지 파일 다운로드는 <ulink url="&url-ibm-fixcentral;">IBM Fix Central</ulink>을 참고하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Verify the image downloaded by running the following command and save the output.
ko: 다음 명령어를 실행해 다운로드한 실행 이미지를 확인하고 출력을 저장합니다.

note: Tag: screen
en: $update_flash -v -f &lt;file_name.img&gt;
ko: $update_flash -v -f &lt;파일_이름.img&gt;

note: Tag: para
en: Update the firmware by running the following command.
ko: 다음 명령어를 실행해 펌웨어를 업데이트합니다.

note: Tag: screen
en: $update_flash -f &lt;file_name.img&gt;
ko: $update_flash -f &lt;파일_이름.img&gt;

note: Tag: para
en: The command reboots the system and therefore, sessions if any, would be lost.
ko: 이 명령은 시스템을 다시 시작하므로, 작업 중인 세션이 있으면 중단됩니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Do not reboot or switch off the system until it is back.
ko: 돌아올 때까지 시스템을 다시 시작하거나 끄지 마십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Verify the updated firmware level of the temporary side of the flash as in step 1.
ko: 1번 단계와 같은 방법으로 임시 위치의 플래시에 업데이트한 펌웨어 레벨을 확인합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: In case the update has to be reverted, the user can do so by running this command: <informalexample><screen>
        $update_flash -r
    </screen></informalexample> Rejection would reject only the temporary side of the flash. Therefore, the new level should be committed to the permanent side only after thorough testing of the new firmware.
ko: 업데이트를 되돌리려면, 다음 명령을 실행하면 됩니다: <informalexample><screen>
        $update_flash -r
    </screen></informalexample> 취소는 플래시 임시 위치에서만 할 수 있습니다. 그러므로 새로운 레벨의 펌웨어는 충분히 테스트한 뒤에 영구 위치에 적용해야 합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The new updated level can be committed to the permanent side of the flash by running the following command.
ko: 새로 업데이트한 레벨의 펌웨어는 다음 명령으로 플래시의 영구 위치로 적용할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Updating KVM guest firmware (SLOF)
ko: KVM 게스트 펌웨어 (SLOF) 업데이트하기

note: Tag: para
en: Slimline Open Firmware (SLOF) is an implementation of the IEEE 1275 standard. It can be used as partition firmware for pSeries machines running on QEMU or KVM.
ko: SLOF(Slimline Open Firmware)는 IEEE 1275 표준의 구현입니다. QEMU 또는 KVM을 실행하는 pSeries 시스템의 파티션 펌웨어로 사용할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The package qemu-slof is, in fact, a dependency of package qemu-system-ppc (which also provides the virtual package qemu-system-ppc64), and can be installed or updated via <command>apt</command> tool on Debian-based distros. Like so: <informalexample><screen>
    # apt install qemu-slof
    </screen></informalexample> SLOF can also be installed into rpm-based distribution systems, given the proper repository or rpm package. Additionally, the upstream source code is available at <ulink url="http://github.com/leilihh/SLOF"></ulink>.
ko: qemu-slof 패키지는 사실 qemu-system-ppc 패키지(qemu-system-ppc64 가상 패키지도 제공)의 의존성 패키지로, 데비안 기반 배포판에서 <command>apt</command> 명령을 사용해 설치할 수 있습니다. 다음과 같습니다: <informalexample><screen>
    # apt install qemu-slof
    </screen></informalexample> SLOF는 RPM 기반 배포판에서도 적절한 패키지 저장소와 RPM 패키지만 있으면 설치할 수 있습니다. 또 업스트림 소스 코드도 <ulink url="http://github.com/leilihh/SLOF"></ulink> 위치에 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Thus, one can use a different SLOF file rather than the default, when running <command>qemu-system</command>, by adding the command line argument <userinput>-bios &lt;slof_file&gt; </userinput> when starting qemu.
ko: <command>qemu-system</command>의 경우, qemu 시작할 때 <userinput>-bios &lt;slof_file&gt; </userinput> 명령행 옵션을 추가해 기본값이 아닌 다른 SLOF 파일을 사용할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Updating PowerKVM hypervisor
ko: PowerKVM 하이퍼바이저 업데이트

note: Tag: title
en: Instructions for Netboot installation
ko: 네트워크 부팅 설치 안내

note: Tag: para
en: You will need a DHCP/TFTP (BOOTP) server, as well as a web server. After downloading ibm-powerkvm-*-ppc64-service-*.iso, mount loop it and unpack it into some directory within your HTTP server www root structure (say wwwroot): <informalexample><screen>
    # cd &lt;directory-where-the-iso-is&gt;
    # mkdir ./iso
    # sudo mount -o loop ibm-powerkvm-*-ppc64-service-*.iso ./iso
    # cp -a ./iso/* &lt;path-to-wwwroot&gt;
    </screen></informalexample> Create the petitboot.conf file in a directory under your tftproot, say /tftproot/powerkvm, with the following contents: <informalexample><screen>
    label PowerKVM Automated Install
    kernel http://YOUR-SERVER-IP/SOME-PATH-TO-wwwroot/ppc/ppc64/vmlinuz
    initrd http://YOUR-SERVER-IP/SOME-PATH-TO-wwwroot/ppc/ppc64/initrd.img
    append root=live:http://YOUR-SERVER-IP/SOME-PATH-TO-wwwroot/LiveOS/squashfs.img repo=http://YOUR-SERVER-IP/SOME-PATH-TO-wwwroot/packages rd.dm=0 rd.md=0 console=hvc0 console=tty0
    </screen></informalexample> Editing your dhcpd.conf, set this directive at the beginning: <informalexample><screen>
    option conf-file code 209 = text;
    </screen></informalexample> Add the system directive: <informalexample><screen>
    host &lt;your-system&gt; {
        hardware ethernet &lt;system macaddr&gt;
        fixed-address &lt;system ip&gt;;
        option host-name "&lt;system hostname&gt;";
        option conf-file "&lt;powerkvm/petitboot.conf&gt;";
     }
    </screen></informalexample> Reboot the dhcp server.
ko: 웹 서버와 DHCP/TFTP(BOOTP) 서버가 필요합니다. ibm-powerkvm-*-ppc64-service-*.iso 파일을 다운로드한 다음, 루프백으로 마운트해 이미지의 내용을 HTTP 서버의 www 최상위에 (아래에서 wwwroot라고 합니다) 놓습니다: <informalexample><screen>
    # cd &lt;directory-where-the-iso-is&gt;
    # mkdir ./iso
    # sudo mount -o loop ibm-powerkvm-*-ppc64-service-*.iso ./iso
    # cp -a ./iso/* &lt;wwwroot-경로&gt;
    </screen></informalexample> tftproot 아래 디렉터리에 petiboot.conf 파일을 만듭니다. /tftproot/powerkvm이라고 하고, 다음 내용을 넣습니다: <informalexample><screen>
    label PowerKVM Automated Install
    kernel http://내-서버-IP/wwwroot-경로/ppc/ppc64/vmlinuz
    initrd http://내-서버-IP/wwwroot-경로/ppc/ppc64/initrd.img
    append root=live:http://서버-IP/wwwroot-경로/LiveOS/squashfs.img repo=http://내-서버-IP/wwwroot-경로/packages rd.dm=0 rd.md=0 console=hvc0 console=tty0
    </screen></informalexample> dhcp.conf 파일을 편집해 맨 앞에 이 지시어를 넣습니다: <informalexample><screen>
    option conf-file code 209 = text;
    </screen></informalexample> 시스템 지시어를 추가합니다: <informalexample><screen>
    host &lt;내-시스템&gt; {
        hardware ethernet &lt;시스템 MAC주소&gt;
        fixed-address &lt;시스템 IP&gt;;
        option host-name "&lt;시스템 호스트이름&gt;";
        option conf-file "&lt;powerkvm/petitboot.conf&gt;";
     }
    </screen></informalexample> DHCP 서버를 다시 시작합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Boot your PowerLinux machine.
ko: PowerLine 시스템을 부팅합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: There should be the following option at petitboot (select it): <informalexample><screen>
    "Power KVM Automated Install" 
    </screen></informalexample> The installer menu should appear automatically.
ko: petitboot에 다음 옵션을 써야 (선택) 합니다: <informalexample><screen>
    "Power KVM Automated Install" 
    </screen></informalexample> 설치 프로그램 메뉴가 자동으로 나타납니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Instructions for DVD
ko: DVD 안내

note: Tag: para
en: Boot the ISO ibm-powerkvm-*-ppc64-service-*.iso (either burn a DVD or make it virtual if using QEMU) and simply wait for the boot.
ko: ibm-powerkvm-*-ppc64-service-*.iso ISO로 (DVD를 만들거나 QEMU의 경우 가상 드랄이브를 통해) 부팅하고 부팅을 기다립니다.

note: Tag: para
en: There should be the following option at petitboot (select it): <informalexample><screen>
    "POWERKVM_LIVECD" 
    </screen></informalexample> The installer menu should appear automatically.
ko: petitboot에 다음 옵션을 써야 (선택) 합니다: <informalexample><screen>
    "POWERKVM_LIVECD" 
    </screen></informalexample> 설치 프로그램 메뉴가 자동으로 나타납니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Invoking OpenBoot
ko: OpenBoot 실행

note: Tag: para
en: OpenBoot provides the basic functions needed to boot the &arch-title; architecture. This is rather similar in function to the BIOS in the x86 architecture, although much nicer. The Sun boot PROMs have a built-in forth interpreter which lets you do quite a number of things with your machine, such as diagnostics and simple scripts.
ko: OpenBoot에는 &arch-title; 아키텍처 부팅에 필요한 기능이 들어 있습니다. 이 기능은 x86 아키텍처의 BIOS와 비슷하지만, 훨씬 더 훌륭합니다. Sun boot PROM에는 forth 인터프리터가 들어 있어서, 진단 기능이나 간단한 스크립트와 같은 여러 가지 일을 할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: To get to the boot prompt you need to hold down the <keycap>Stop</keycap> key (on older type 4 keyboards, use the <keycap>L1</keycap> key, if you have a PC keyboard adapter, use the <keycap>Break</keycap> key) and press the <keycap>A</keycap> key. The boot PROM will give you a prompt, either <userinput>ok</userinput> or <userinput>&gt;</userinput>. It is preferred to have the <userinput>ok</userinput> prompt. So if you get the old style prompt, hit the <keycap>n</keycap> key to get the new style prompt.
ko: 부팅 프롬프트로 들어가려면 <keycap>Stop</keycap> 키를 누르고 있다가(옛날 type 4 키보드에서는 <keycap>L1</keycap> 키를 사용하고, PC 키보드 어댑터를 쓰면 <keycap>Break</keycap> 키 사용), <keycap>A</keycap> 키를 누릅니다. boot PROM에서 <userinput>ok</userinput> 혹은 <userinput>&gt;</userinput>라는 프롬프트가 나옵니다. <userinput>ok</userinput> 프롬프트가 좋습니다. 옛날 방식의 프롬프트가 나타난다면, <keycap>n</keycap>키를 누르면 새로운 방식의 프롬프트가 나옵니다.

note: Tag: para
en: If you are using a serial console, send a break to the machine. With Minicom, use <keycap>Ctrl-A F</keycap>, with cu, hit <keycap>Enter</keycap>, then type <userinput>%~break</userinput>. Consult the documentation of your terminal emulator if you are using a different program.
ko: 시리얼 콘솔을 사용한다면, break 신호를 보내십시오. minicom에서는 <keycap>Ctrl-A F</keycap>을 누르고, cu에서는 <keycap>Enter</keycap> 다음에 <userinput>%~break</userinput>을 입력합니다. 다른 프로그램을 사용한다면 그 터미널 에뮬레이터의 문서를 참고하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: You can use OpenBoot to boot from specific devices, and also to change your default boot device. However, you need to know some details about how OpenBoot names devices; it's considerably different from Linux device naming, described in <xref linkend="device-names"/>. Also, the command will vary a bit, depending on what version of OpenBoot you have. More information about OpenBoot can be found in the <ulink url="&url-openboot;">Sun OpenBoot Reference</ulink>.
ko: OpenBoot를 사용해 특정 장치에서 부팅할 수 있고, 기본 부팅 장치를 바꿀 수도 있습니다. 하지만 OpenBoot의 장치 명명법에 대해 좀 자세히 알아야 합니다. 리눅스 장치 명명법과는 많이 다른데 <xref linkend="device-names"/>에 보면 설명되어 있습니다. 또, 명령어도 어떤 OpenBoot 버전을 쓰느냐에 따라 많이 다릅니다. OpenBoot에 대한 더 많은 정보는 <ulink url="&url-openboot;">Sun OpenBoot Reference</ulink>에서 볼 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Typically, with newer revisions, you can use OpenBoot devices such as <quote>floppy</quote>, <quote>cdrom</quote>, <quote>net</quote>, <quote>disk</quote>, or <quote>disk2</quote>. These have the obvious meanings; the <quote>net</quote> device is for booting from the network. Additionally, the device name can specify a particular partition of a disk, such as <quote>disk2:a</quote> to boot disk2, first partition. Full OpenBoot device names have the form: <informalexample> <screen>
    <replaceable>driver-name</replaceable>@
    <replaceable>unit-address</replaceable>:
    <replaceable>device-arguments</replaceable>
    </screen></informalexample> In older revisions of OpenBoot, device naming is a bit different: the floppy device is called <quote>/fd</quote>, and SCSI disk devices are of the form <quote>sd(<replaceable>controller</replaceable>, <replaceable>disk-target-id</replaceable>, <replaceable>disk-lun</replaceable>)</quote>. The command <userinput>show-devs</userinput> in newer OpenBoot revisions is useful for viewing the currently configured devices. For full information, whatever your revision, see the <ulink url="&url-openboot;">Sun OpenBoot Reference</ulink>.
ko: 최근 버전에서는, OpenBoot 장치를 <quote>floppy</quote>, <quote>cdrom</quote>, <quote>net</quote>, <quote>disk</quote> 혹은 <quote>disk2</quote>와 같이 쓸 수 있습니다. 각각은 분명한 의미가 있습니다. <quote>net</quote>은 네트워크에서 부팅합니다. 또 장치 이름에서 디스크의 특정 파티션을 지정할 수도 있습니다. <quote>disk2:a</quote>와 같이 하면 disk2의 첫번째 파티션에서 부팅하는 것입니다. 완전한 OpenBoot 장치 이름의 형식은 다음과 같습니다: <informalexample> <screen>
    <replaceable>드라이버-이름</replaceable>@
    <replaceable>유닛-주소</replaceable>:
    <replaceable>장치-인수</replaceable>
    </screen></informalexample> 과거 버전의 OpenBoot에서는 장치 명명법이 약간 다릅니다: 플로피 장치는 <quote>/fd</quote>라고 하고, SCSI 디스크는 <quote>sd(<replaceable>컨트롤러</replaceable>, <replaceable>disk-대상ID</replaceable>, <replaceable>disk-LUN</replaceable>)</quote> 형식입니다. 최근 OpenBoot 버전에서는 <userinput>show-devs</userinput> 명령으로 현재 설정한 장치의 목록을 볼 수 있습니다. 버전에 대한 더 자세한 정보는 <ulink url="&url-openboot;">Sun OpenBoot Reference</ulink>를 참고하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: To boot from a specific device, use the command <userinput>boot <replaceable>device</replaceable></userinput>. You can set this behavior as the default using the <userinput>setenv</userinput> command. However, the name of the variable to set changed between OpenBoot revisions. In OpenBoot 1.x, use the command <userinput>setenv boot-from <replaceable>device</replaceable></userinput>. In later revisions of OpenBoot, use the command <userinput>setenv boot-device <replaceable>device</replaceable></userinput>. Note, this is also configurable using the <command>eeprom</command> command on Solaris, or modifying the appropriate files in <filename>/proc/openprom/options/</filename>, for example under Linux: <informalexample><screen>
    # echo disk1:1 &gt; /proc/openprom/options/boot-device
    </screen></informalexample> and under Solaris:
ko: 특정 장치에서 부팅하려면, <userinput>boot <replaceable>장치</replaceable></userinput> 명령을 사용합니다. <userinput>setenv</userinput> 명령을 사용하면 이걸 기본값으로 만들 수 있습니다. 하지만 변수의 이름은 OpenBoot 버전마다 다릅니다. OpenBoot 1.x에서는 <userinput>setenv boot-from <replaceable>장치</replaceable></userinput> 명령을 사용하십시오. 그 후의 OpenBoot 버전에서는, <userinput>setenv boot-device <replaceable>장치</replaceable></userinput> 명령을 사용하십시오. Solaris에서 <command>eeprom</command> 명령을 이용하거나, <filename>/proc/openprom/options/</filename>의 파일을 고쳐서 설정할 수 있습니다. 예를 들어 리눅스에서는: <informalexample><screen>
    # echo disk1:1 &gt; /proc/openprom/options/boot-device
    </screen></informalexample> 그리고 Solaris에서는:

note: Tag: title
en: BIOS Setup
ko: BIOS 설정

note: Tag: para
en: In order to install &debian-gnu; on a &arch-title; or zSeries machine you have first boot a kernel into the system. The boot mechanism of this platform is inherently different to other ones, especially from PC-like systems: there are no floppy devices available at all. You will notice another big difference while you work with this platform: most (if not all) of the time you will work remote, with the help of some client session software like telnet, or a browser. This is due to that special system architecture where the 3215/3270 console is line-based instead of character-based.
ko: &debian-gnu;를 &arch-title; 혹은 zSeries 컴퓨터에 설치하려면 먼저 커널을 부팅합니다. 이 플랫폼의 부팅 방법은 다른 플랫폼과는(특히 PC 시스템과는) 완전히 다릅니다. 플로피 장치가 아예 없습니다. 이 플랫폼으로 작업할 때 다른 큰 차이점도 하나 있는데, 대부분(항상 그렇지는 않더라도) 원격에서 telnet이나 브라우저같은 클라이언트 소프트웨어를 이용해 작업합니다. 특별한 아키텍처때문인데 여기서 3215/3270 콘솔은 문자 단위가 아니라 라인 단위입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Linux on this platform runs either natively on the bare machine, in a so-called LPAR (Logical Partition) or in a virtual machine supplied by the VM system. Boot media differs depending on the runtime mode. For example, you can use the virtual card reader of a virtual machine, or boot from the HMC (Hardware Management Console) of an LPAR if the HMC and this option is available for you.
ko: 이 플랫폼의 리눅스는 LPAR(Logical Partition)이라고 하는 원래의 컴퓨터에서 동작할 수도 있고, VM 시스템의 가상 머신에서 동작할 수도 있습니다. 부팅 미디어는 런타임 모드에 따라 다릅니다. 예를 들어서, 가상 머신의 경우 가상 카드 리더를 사용할 수도 있고, LPAR에서는 HMC(Hardware Management Console)에서 부팅할 수도 있습니다. (HMC가 있고 부팅 옵션이 있는 경우.)

note: Tag: para
en: Before you actually perform an installation, you have to go over some design and preparation steps. IBM has made documentation available about the whole process, e.g. how to prepare an installation medium and how actually to boot from that medium. Duplicating that information here is neither possible nor necessary. However, we will describe here which kind of &debian;-specific data is needed and where to find it. Using both sources of information, you have to prepare your machine and the installation medium before you can perform a boot from it. When you see the welcome message in your client session, return to this document to go through the &debian;-specific installation steps.
ko: 실제로 설치를하기 전에 설계하고 준비하는 단계를 몇 가지 취해야 합니다. 전체 단계, 예를 들어 설치 미디어를 준비하고 그 미디어의 실제 시작 등은 IBM에서 문서에 설명되어 있습니다. 여기서 그 정보를 반복하는 것은 불가능하고 불필요합니다. 그러나 필요한 &debian; 특유의 정보, 그리고 그 데이터 위치는 여기에서 언급하고 있다고 생각합니다. 두 자료를 바탕으로 컴퓨터와 설치 미디어를 시작하기 전에 준비하십시오. 클라이언트 세션에서 welcome 메시지를 보면, 이 문서로 돌아가 &debian; 설치 단계를 진행하십시오.

note: Tag: title
en: Native and LPAR installations
ko: 네이티브 및 LPAR 설치

note: Tag: para
en: Please refer to chapter 5 of the <ulink url="http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/pubs/pdfs/redbooks/sg244987.pdf"> Linux for &arch-title;</ulink> Redbook and chapter 3.2 of the <ulink url="http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/pubs/pdfs/redbooks/sg246264.pdf"> Linux for IBM eServer zSeries and &arch-title;: Distributions</ulink> Redbook on how to set up an LPAR for Linux.
ko: 리눅스용으로 LPAR을 설정하는 방법은 <ulink url="http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/pubs/pdfs/redbooks/sg244987.pdf"> Linux for &arch-title;</ulink> 레드북의 5장과 <ulink url="http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/pubs/pdfs/redbooks/sg246264.pdf"> Linux for IBM eServer zSeries and &arch-title;: Distributions</ulink> 레드북의 3.2장을 참고하십시오.

note: Tag: title
en: Installation as a VM guest
ko: VM guest로 설치

note: Tag: para
en: Please refer to chapter 6 of the <ulink url="http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/pubs/pdfs/redbooks/sg244987.pdf"> Linux for &arch-title;</ulink> Redbook and chapter 3.1 of the <ulink url="http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/pubs/pdfs/redbooks/sg246264.pdf"> Linux for IBM eServer zSeries and &arch-title;: Distributions</ulink> Redbook on how to set up a VM guest for running Linux.
ko: VM guest를 설정해 리눅스를 실행하는 방법은 <ulink url="http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/pubs/pdfs/redbooks/sg244987.pdf"> Linux for &arch-title;</ulink> 레드북의 6장과 <ulink url="http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/pubs/pdfs/redbooks/sg246264.pdf"> Linux for IBM eServer zSeries and &arch-title;: Distributions</ulink> 레드북의 3.1장을 참고하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: You need to copy all the files from the <filename>generic</filename> sub-directory to your CMS disk. Be sure to transfer <filename>kernel.debian</filename> and <filename>initrd.debian</filename> in binary mode with a fixed record length of 80 characters (by specifying <userinput>BINARY</userinput> and <userinput>LOCSITE FIX 80</userinput> in your FTP client). <filename>parmfile.debian</filename> can be in either ASCII or EBCDIC format. A sample <filename>debian.exec</filename> script, which will punch the files in the proper order, is included with the images.
ko: 모든 파일을 <filename>generic</filename> 서브 디렉터리에서 CMS 디스크에 복사해야 합니다. <filename>kernel.debian</filename>와 <filename>initrd.debian</filename>은 반드시 고정 레코드 길이를 80 문자로 바이너리 모드로 전송하십시오(FTP 클라이언트에서 <userinput>BINARY</userinput> 및 <userinput>LOCSITE FIX 80</userinput> 지정). <filename>parmfile.debian</filename>은 ASCII 형식 또는 EBCDIC 형식으로 괜찮습니다. 파일을 올바르게 배치하는 <filename>debian.exec</filename> 예제 스크립트가 이미지에 포함되어 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Setting up an installation server
ko: 설치 서버 준비하기

note: Tag: para
en: If you don't have a connection to the Internet (either directly or via a web proxy) you need to create a local installation server that can be accessed from your S/390. This server keeps all the packages you want to install and must make them available using NFS, HTTP or FTP.
ko: (직접 혹은 웹 프록시를 통해) 인터넷에 연결하지 않는다면 S/390에서 접근할 수 있는 로컬 설치 서버를 만들어야 합니다. 이 서버에는 설치하려는 모든 패키지가 들어 있고 그 패키지를 NFS나 HTTP나 FTP로 외부에서 접근할 수 있게 합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The installation server needs to copy the exact directory structure from any &debian-gnu; mirror, but only the S/390 and architecture-independent files are required. You can also copy the contents of all installation CDs into such a directory tree.
ko: 설치 서버에는 &debian-gnu; 미러에서 디렉터리 구조를 정확히 복사해 놓아야 합니다. S/390 아키텍처용 파일 및 아키텍처 공용 파일만 필요합니다. 그 디렉터리에서 설치 CD의 내용만 복사해 올 수도 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: ARM firmware
ko: ARM 펌웨어

note: Tag: para
en: As already mentioned before, there is unfortunately no standard for system firmware on ARM systems. Even the behaviour of different systems which use nominally the same firmware can be quite different. This results from the fact that a large part of the devices using the ARM architecture are embedded systems, for which the manufacturers usually build heavily customized firmware versions and include device-specific patches. Unfortunately the manufacturers often do not submit their changes and extensions back to the mainline firmware developers, so their changes are not integrated into newer versions of the original firmware.
ko: 앞에서도 말했듯이, ARM 시스템에서는 아쉽게도 시스템 펌웨어의 표준이 없습니다. 같은 펌웨어를 사용하는 다른 시스템도 동작이 아주 다릅니다. 이는 ARM 아키텍쳐를 사용하는 하드웨어의 상당 부분이 임베디드 시스템이기 때문입니다. 임베디드 시스템에서는 제조사가 특별히 수정된 버전의 펌웨어를 빌드하고 이 펌웨어에는 하드웨어 전용 패치가 들어 있습니다. 아쉽게도 이 제조사는 수정 사항이나 확장한 기능을 상위의 펌웨어 개발자에게 전달하지 않습니다. 그러므로 수정 사항이 새 버전의 원래 펌웨어에서는 빠지게 됩니다.

note: Tag: para
en: As a result even newly sold systems often use a firmware that is based on a years-old manufacturer-modified version of a firmware whose mainline codebase has evolved a lot further in the meantime and offers additional features or shows different behaviour in certain aspects. In addition to that, the naming of onboard devices is not consistent between different manufacturer-modified versions of the same firmware, therefore it is nearly impossible to provide usable product-independend instructions for ARM-based systems.
ko: 결과적으로 새로 판매되는 시스템에서도 수년이 지나도 제조사 버전의 수정된 펌웨어를 사용하게 되는데, 그 동안 상위 메인라인의 코드는 엄청나게 발전해서 추가 기능을 제공할 수도 있고 동작이 달라질 수도 있습니다. 또 같은 펌웨어의 제조사 수정 버전이 달라져도 하드웨어의 장치 이름이 일관적이지 않습니다. 그래서 ARM을 사용하는 시스템에서는 제품과 무관한 설치 안내를 하기가 불가능합니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Debian-provided U-Boot (system firmware) images
ko: 데비안 공급 U-Boot (시스템 펌웨어) 이미지

note: Tag: para
en: Debian provides U-Boot images for various armhf systems that can load their U-Boot from an SD card at &armmp-uboot-img;. The U-Boot builds are offered in two formats: raw U-Boot components and a ready-made card image that can easily be written onto an SD card. The raw U-Boot components are provided for advanced users; the generally recommended way is to use one of the ready-made SD card images. They are named &lt;system-type&gt;.sdcard.img.gz and can be written to a card e.g. with <informalexample><screen>zcat &lt;system-type&gt;.sdcard.img.gz &gt; /dev/SD_CARD_DEVICE</screen></informalexample> As with all images, please be aware that writing the image to an SD card wipes all previous contents of the card!
ko: 데비안에서 여러가지 armhf 시스템에서 SD 카드에서 U-Boot를 읽어들일 수 있는 U-Boot 이미지를 &armmp-uboot-img; 위치에 제공합니다. U-Boot 빌드는 2가지 형식으로 제공됩니다: 하나는 가공되지 않은 형식의 U-Boot 구성 요소는 또 하나는 SD 카드에 간단히 쓸 수 있는 카드 이미지 파일입니다. 가공되지 않은 U-Boot 구성요소는 고급 사용자용입니다. 추천하는 방법은 SD 카드 이미지 사용입니다. SD 카드 이미지 파일은 &lt;시스템-종류&gt;.sdcard.img.gz 파일로 SD 카드에 다음과 같은 명령으로 쓸 수 있습니다: <informalexample><screen>zcat &lt;시스템-종류&gt;.sdcard.img.gz &gt; /dev/SD_카드_장치</screen></informalexample> 어떤 이미지이든, 이미지를 SD 카드에 쓰면 카드의 이전 내용을 모두 엎어쓰니 주의하십시오!

note: Tag: para
en: If Debian provides a U-Boot image for your system, it is recommended that you use this image instead of the vendor-provided U-Boot, as the version in Debian is usually newer and has more features.
ko: 데비안에서 시스템에 맞는 U-Boot 이미지를 제공하는 경우, 판매 회사가 제공하는 U-Boot 대신 그 이미지를 사용하기를 추천합니다. 데비안에 들어 있는 버전이 보통 더 최신으로 더 많은 기능이 들어 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Setting the ethernet MAC address in U-Boot
ko: U-Boot에서 이더넷 MAC 주소 설정하기

note: Tag: para
en: The MAC address of every ethernet interface should normally be globally unique, and it technically has to be unique within its ethernet broadcast domain. To achieve this, the manufacturer usually allocates a block of MAC addresses from a centrally-administered pool (for which a fee has to be paid) and preconfigures one of these addresses on each item sold.
ko: 모든 이더넷 인터페이스의 MAC 주소는 보통은 전세계에서 유일해야 합니다. 그리고 기술적으로도 이더넷 브로드캐스트 범위 안에서는 주소가 유일해야 합니다. 이렇게 유일성을 보장하기 위해, 중앙에서 관리하는 모음에서 제조사마다 일정한 블럭의 MAC 주소 묶음을 배정받습니다. (그리고 일정한 사용료를 냅니다.) 그 다음에 판매하는 제품마다 주소를 하나씩 부여합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: In the case of development boards, sometimes the manufacturer wants to avoid paying these fees and therefore provides no globally unique addresses. In these cases the users themselves have to define MAC addresses for their systems. When no MAC address is defined for an ethernet interface, some network drivers generate a random MAC address that can change on every boot, and if this happens, network access would be possible even when the user has not manually set an address, but e.g. assigning semi-static IP addresses by DHCP based on the MAC address of the requesting client would obviously not work reliably.
ko: 개발 보드의 경우에는, 제조사에서 이 사용료를 내지 않으려 하기도 해서 유일한 주소가 없을 수도 있습니다. 이 경우 사용자가 직접 MAC 주소를 설정해야 합니다. 이더넷 인터페이스에 MAC 주소가 지정되어 있지 않았을 때, 일부 드라이버는 부팅할 때마다 임의의 MAC 주소를 생성하기도 합니다. 이렇게 동작하는 경우 수동으로 주소를 지정하지 않아도 네트워크를 사용할 수 있습니다. 하지만 예를 들어 DHCP 서버가 클라이언트 MAC 주소에 따라 일정한 IP 주소를 할당하는 경우에는 제대로 동작하지 않습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: To avoid conflicts with existing officially-assigned MAC addresses, there is an address pool which is reserved for so-called <quote>locally administered</quote> addresses. It is defined by the value of two specific bits in the first byte of the address (the article <quote>MAC address</quote> in the English language Wikipedia gives a good explanation). In practice this means that e.g. any address starting with hexadecimal ca (such as ca:ff:ee:12:34:56) can be used as a locally administered address.
ko: 공식적으로 배정된 MAC 주소와 충돌을 피하려면 <quote>사설(locally administered)</quote> 주소로 예약된 주소가 있습니다. 이 주소는 주소의 첫 바이트에서 두 비트로 정의됩니다. (영문 위키백과의 <quote>MAC address</quote> 글에 잘 설며오디어 있습니다.) 예를 들어, 16진수 "ca"로 시작하는 모든 주소는(예를 들어 ca:ff:ee:12:34:56) 사설 주소입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: On systems using U-Boot as system firmware, the ethernet MAC address is placed in the <quote>ethaddr</quote> environment variable. It can be checked at the U-Boot command prompt with the command <quote>printenv ethaddr</quote> and can be set with the command <quote>setenv ethaddr ca:ff:ee:12:34:56</quote>. After setting the value, the command <quote>saveenv</quote> makes the assignment permanent.
ko: U-Boot를 시스템 펌웨어로 사용하는 시스템에서는, 이더넷 MAC 주소를 <quote>ethaddr</quote> 환경 변수에 저장합니다. 이 값은 U-Boot 명령 프롬프트에서 <quote>printenv ethaddr</quote> 명령으로 확인해 볼 수 있고, <quote>setenv ethaddr ca:ff:ee:12:34:56</quote> 명령과 같이 설정할 수 있습니다. 값을 설정하면 <quote>saveenv</quote> 명령으로 값을 저장합니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Kernel/Initrd/Device-Tree relocation issues in U-Boot
ko: U-Boot의 커널/최초 램디스크/디바이스 트리 재배치 문제

note: Tag: para
en: On some systems with older U-Boot versions there can be problems with properly relocating the Linux kernel, the initial ramdisk and the device-tree blob in memory during the boot process. In this case, U-Boot shows the message <quote>Starting kernel ...</quote>, but the system freezes afterwards without further output. These issues have been solved with newer U-Boot versions from v2014.07 onwards.
ko: 예전 버전의 U-Boot를 사용하는 일부 시스템에서는, 부팅 과정에서 메모리에 있는 리눅스 커널, 최초 램디스크, 디바이스 트리를 재배치할 때 문제가 있을 수도 있습니다. 이 경우 U-Boot에서 <quote>Starting kernel ...</quote> 메시지를 표시히지만, 그 뒤에 출력이 없이 시스템이 멈춰 있습니다. 이 문제는 U-Boot v2014.07 버전 이후로 해결되었습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: If the system has originally used a U-Boot version older than v2014.07 and has been upgraded to a newer version later, the problem might still occur even after upgrading U-Boot. Upgrading U-Boot usually does not modify the existing U-Boot environment variables and the fix requires an additional environment variable (bootm_size) to be set, which U-Boot does automatically only on fresh installations without existing environment data. It is possible to manually set bootm_size to the new U-Boot's default value by running the command <quote>env default bootm_size; saveenv</quote> at the U-Boot prompt.
ko: 만약 시스템에서 v2014.07보다 오래 된 U-Boot 버전을 사용하고 나중에 그 보다 나중 버전으로 업그레이드했다면, U-Boot 업그레이드 후에도 문제가 계속 발생할 수 있습니다. U-Boot를 업그레이드해도 현재 U-Boot 환경 변수를 수정하지는 않고, 추가 환경 변수를(bootm_size) 설정해야 합니다. U-Boot는 환경 변수 데이터가 없이 새로 설치할 경우에만 자동으로 이 환경 변수를 설정합니다. U-Boot 프롬프트에서 <quote>env default bootm_size; saveenv</quote> 명령으로 bootm_size 환경 변수를 U-Boot의 기본값으로 수동 설정할 수도 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Another possibility to circumvent relocation-related problems is to run the command <quote>setenv fdt_high ffffffff; setenv initrd_high 0xffffffff; saveenv</quote> at the U-Boot prompt to completely disable the relocation of the initial ramdisk and the device-tree blob.
ko: 재배치와 관련된 문제를 피해가는 한 가지 가능한 방법은 <quote>setenv fdt_high ffffffff; setenv initrd_high 0xffffffff; saveenv</quote> 명령을  U-Boot 프롬프트에서 실행해서 최초 램디스크와 디바이스 트리 파일의 재배치를 완전히 막는 방법입니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Systems with UEFI firmware
ko: UEFI 펌웨어 시스템

note: Tag: para
en: UEFI (<quote>Unified Extensible Firmware Interface</quote>) is a new kind of system firmware that is used on many modern systems and is - among other uses - intended to replace the classic PC BIOS.
ko: UEFI(<quote>Unified Extensible Firmware Interface</quote>)는 현대적인 시스템에서 사용하는 시스템 펌웨어의 한 종류입니다. 특히 고전적인 PC BIOS를 대체할 목적으로 만들어졌습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Currently most PC systems that use UEFI also have a so-called <quote>Compatibility Support Module</quote> (CSM) in the firmware, which provides exactly the same interfaces to an operating system as a classic PC BIOS, so that software written for the classic PC BIOS can be used unchanged. Nonetheless UEFI is intended to one day completely replace the old PC BIOS without being fully backwards-compatible and there are already a lot of systems with UEFI but without CSM.
ko: 현재 UEFI를 사용하는 대부분의 PC 시스템은 펌웨어에 CSM(<quote>Compatibility Support Module</quote>)이라고 하는 것이 들어 있습니다. CSM은 고전적인 PC BIOS와 완전히 동일한 인터페이스를 제공하는 모듈입니다. 즉 고전적인 PC BIOS용으로 작성된 소프트웨어를 수정 없이 사용할 수 있습니다. 하지만 UEFI는 언젠가는 호환성 지원 없이 PC BIOS를 완전히 대체할 예정이고, 이미 CSM이 없는 UEFI 시스템도 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: On systems with UEFI there are a few things to take into consideration when installing an operating system. The way the firmware loads an operating system is fundamentally different between the classic BIOS (or UEFI in CSM mode) and native UEFI. One major difference is the way the harddisk partitions are recorded on the harddisk. While the classic BIOS and UEFI in CSM mode use a DOS partition table, native UEFI uses a different partitioning scheme called <quote>GUID Partition Table</quote> (GPT). On a single disk, for all practical purposes only one of the two can be used and in case of a multi-boot setup with different operating systems on one disk, all of them must therefore use the same type of partition table. Booting from a disk with GPT is only possible in native UEFI mode, but using GPT becomes more and more common as hard disk sizes grow, because the classic DOS partition table cannot address disks larger than about 2 Terabytes while GPT allows for far larger disks. The other major difference between BIOS (or UEFI in CSM mode) and native UEFI is the location where boot code is stored and in which format it has to be. This means that different bootloaders are needed for each system.
ko: UEFI 시스템에서는 운영 체제를 설치할 때 고려할 점이 몇 가지 있습니다. UEFI에서는 펌웨어에서 운영 체제를 읽어들이는 방법이 전통적인 BIOS(또는 CSM 모드를 사용하는 UEFI)와는 근본적으로 다릅니다. 큰 차이점은 하드 디스크 파티션을 하드 디스크에 기록하는 방식입니다. 전통적인 BIOS와 CSM 모드의 UEFI는 DOS 파티션 테이블을 사용하지만, 네이티브 UEFI는 <quote>GUID 파티션 테이블</quote>(GPT)이라는 다른 파티션 방식을 사용합니다. 1개의 디스크에서는 이 두 가지 형식 중에 하나만 사용할 수 있고, 한 디스크에 여러가지 운영 체제를 사용하는 멀티 부팅의 경우는 모든 운영 체제가 같은 파티션 종류의 테이블을 사용해야 합니다. GPT를 사용한 디스크에서 부팅하려면 UEFI 모드에서만 가능합니다. 하지만 하드 디스크 크기가 늘어날 수록 GPT 사용이 더 늘어나고 있습니다. 전통적인 DOS 파티션은 2테라바이트가 넘어가는 섹터 주소를 처리할 수 없지만, GPT는 훨씬 더 큰 디스크도 지원하기 때문입니다. BIOS(또는 CSM모드 UEFI)와 네티이브 UEFI의 또 다른 주요 차이점은 부팅 코드를 읽어들이는 위치와 그 형식입니다. 즉 이 두 시스템은 다른 종류의 부트로더가 필요합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The latter becomes important when booting &d-i; on a UEFI system with CSM because &d-i; checks whether it was started on a BIOS- or on a native UEFI system and installs the corresponding bootloader. Normally this simply works but there can be a problem in multi-boot environments. On some UEFI systems with CSM the default boot mode for removable devices can be different from what is actually used when booting from hard disk, so when booting the installer from a USB stick in a different mode from what is used when booting another already installed operating system from the hard disk, the wrong bootloader might be installed and the system might be unbootable after finishing the installation. When choosing the boot device from a firmware boot menu, some systems offer two seperate choices for each device, so that the user can select whether booting shall happen in CSM or in native UEFI mode.
ko: 후자는 CSM 모드 UEFI 시스템에서 &d-i; 부팅할 때 중요합니다. &d-i;에서 BIOS에서 시작했는지 네이티브 UEFI 시스템에서 부팅했는지 검사해서 해당하는 부트로더를 설치하기 때문입니다.  통 잘 동작하지만, 멀티 부팅 환경에서는 문제가 될 수 있습니다. 일부 CSM이 있느 UEFI 시스템에서는 이동식 장치의 부팅 모드가 하드 디스크 부팅과 다르면, USB 메모리의 설치 프로그램을 하드디스크에 설치하는 운영 체제의 부팅 모드와 다른 모드로 부팅해서 잘못된 부트로더를 설치하고, 설치를 마친 다음에 시스템이 부팅 불가능 상태가 될 수도 있습니다. 펌웨어 부팅 메뉴에서 부팅 장치를 선택할 때 시스템에 따라서는 장치마다 두 가지 중 하나를 선택할 수도 있어서, 사용자가 CSM 모드나 네이티브 EFI 모드 중의 하나를 선택해서 부팅할 수도 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Another UEFI-related topic is the so-called <quote>secure boot</quote> mechanism. Secure boot means a function of UEFI implementations that allows the firmware to only load and execute code that is cryptographically signed with certain keys and thereby blocking any (potentially malicious) boot code that is unsigned or signed with unknown keys. In practice the only key accepted by default on most UEFI systems with secure boot is a key from Microsoft used for signing the Windows bootloader. As the boot code used by &d-i; is not signed by Microsoft, booting the installer requires prior deactivation of secure boot in case it is enabled. Secure boot is often enabled by default on systems that come preinstalled with a 64-bit version of Windows 8 and there is unfortunately no standard way to disable it in the UEFI setup. On some systems, the option to disable secure boot is only made visible when a BIOS password has been set by the user, so if you have a system with secure boot enabled, but cannot find an option to disable it, try setting a BIOS password, powercycle the machine and look again for an appropriate option.
ko: 또 다른 UEFI 관련 문제는 <quote>보안 부팅</quote>(secure boot)이라고 하는 방식입니다. 보안 부팅은 UEFI의 한 가지 기능으로 특정 키로 디지털 서명된 코드만 읽어들이고 실행하고, 사인이 없거나 알 수 없는 키로 서명된 (아마도 악의적인) 코드를 막는 기능입니다. 실제로는 보안 부팅 기능이 있는 대부분의 UEFI 시스템은 기본값으로, 마이크로소프트가 마이크로소프트 부트로더를 서명할 때 사용하는 키만 허용합니다. &d-i;에서 사용하는 부팅 코드는 마이크로소프트에서 서명하지 않았으므로, 설치 프로그램을 부팅할 때 보안 부팅이 켜져 있으먼 꺼야 합니다. Windows 8의 64비트 버전이 미리 설치되어 있는 시스템에서 보안 부팅이 기본값으로 켜져 있으면서, 보안 부팅을 끌 방법이 없는 경우가 있습니다. 이런 경우에는 보안 부팅을 해제하는 옵션은 사용자가 BIOS 암호를 설정한 경우에만 보입니다. 그러므로 보안 부팅을 사용하는 시스템에서 끄는 옵션이 없으면, BIOS 암호를 설정하고 컴퓨터를 켠 다음 다시 옵션을 찾아 보십시오.

note: Tag: title
en: Disabling the Windows 8 <quote>fast boot</quote> feature
ko: 윈도우 8 <quote>빠른 시작</quote> 기능 끄기

note: Tag: para
en: Windows 8 offers a feature called <quote>fast boot</quote> to cut down system startup time. Technically, when this feature is enabled, Windows 8 does not do a real shutdown and a real cold boot afterwards when ordered to shut down, but instead does something resembling a partial suspend to disk to reduce the <quote>boot</quote> time. As long as Windows 8 is the only operating system on the machine, this is unproblematic, but it can result in problems and data loss when you have a dual boot setup in which another operating system accesses the same filesystems as Windows 8 does. In that case the real state of the filesystem can be different from what Windows 8 believes it to be after the <quote>boot</quote> and this could cause filesystem corruption upon further write accesses to the filesystem. Therefore in a dual boot setup, to avoid filesystem corruption the <quote>fast boot</quote> feature has to be disabled within Windows.
ko: 윈도우 8에는 시스템 시작에 필요한 시간을 줄이는 <quote>빠른 시작</quote>이라는 기능이 있습니다. 기술적으로 말하면, 이 기능을 사용할 경우 Windows 8은 컴퓨터를 끌 때 셧다운을 한 후에 콜드 부팅을 하지 않고, 부분적인 최대 절전 기능과 비슷한 일을 해서 <quote>부팅</quote> 시간을 줄입니다. Windows 8이 컴퓨터의 유일한 운영 체제라면 이런 식의 동작은 문제가 되지 않습니다. 하지만 다른 운영 체제와 Windows 8이 이중 부팅해서 같은 파일 시스템에 접근한다면 문제가 되고 데이터 손실이 발생할 수 있습니다. 이 경우 파일 시스템의 상태가 <quote>부팅</quote>한 후의 Windows 8이 생각하는 상태와 달라서 파일 시스템에 다시 쓰기를 할 경우 파일 시스템의 손상이 발생할 수 있습니다. 그러므로 이중 부팅에서는 파일 시스템 소상을 막기 위해 <quote>빠른 시작</quote> 기능을 윈도우에서 꺼야 합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: It may also be necessary to disable <quote>fast boot</quote> to even allow access to UEFI setup to choose to boot another operating system or &d-i;. On some UEFI systems, the firmware will reduce <quote>boot</quote> time by not initialising the keyboard controller or USB hardware; in these cases, it is necessary to boot into Windows and disable this feature to allow for a change of boot order.
ko: 또 <quote>빠른 시작</quote>를 반드시 꺼야 UEFI 셋업이나 다른 운영 체제 또는 &d-i;를 실행할 수 있는 경우도 있습니다. 일부 UEFI 시스템에서는 키보드나 USB 하드웨어 초기화를 건너 뛰어서 <quote>부팅</quote> 시간을 줄입니다. 이러한 경우 윈도우로 부팅해서 빠른 시작 기능을 꺼야 부팅 순서를 바꿀 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Hardware Issues to Watch Out For
ko: 주의해야 할 하드웨어 문제

note: Tag: title
en: USB BIOS support and keyboards
ko: USB BIOS 지원 및 키보드

note: Tag: para
en: If you have no PS/2-style keyboard, but only a USB model, on some very old PCs you may need to enable legacy keyboard emulation in your BIOS setup to be able to use your keyboard in the bootloader menu, but this is not an issue for modern systems. If your keyboard does not work in the bootloader menu, consult your mainboard manual and look in the BIOS for <quote>Legacy keyboard emulation</quote> or <quote>USB keyboard support</quote> options.
ko: PS/2 방식 키보드가 없고 USB 키보드만 있는 경우 이 키보드를 부트로더 메뉴에서 사용하려면, BIOS 설정에서  레거시 키보드 에뮬레이션 기능을 켜야 할 수도 있습니다. 하지만 최근의 시스템에서는 문제가 되지 않습니다. 키보드가 부트로더 메뉴에서 동작하지 않으면, 메인보드 설명서를 참고해 BIOS에서 <quote>Legacy keyboard emulation</quote> 또는 <quote>USB keyboard support</quote> 옵션을 찾아 보십시오.

note: Tag: title
en: Display-visibility on OldWorld Powermacs
ko: 올드월드 파워맥에서 화면이 안 보이는 문제

note: Tag: para
en: Some OldWorld Powermacs, most notably those with the <quote>control</quote> display driver, may not reliably produce a colormap under Linux when the display is configured for more than 256 colors. If you are experiencing such issues with your display after rebooting (you can sometimes see data on the monitor, but on other occasions cannot see anything) or, if the screen turns black after booting the installer instead of showing you the user interface, try changing your display settings under MacOS to use 256 colors instead of <quote>thousands</quote> or <quote>millions</quote>.
ko: 일부 올드월드 파워맥의 경우, 특히 <quote>control</quote> 디스플레이 드라이버를 사용하는 기종은 디스플레이를 256색보다 더 높게 맞추면 리눅스에서 제대로 컬러맵을 만들지 못할 때가 있습니다. 다시 부팅한 후에 그러한 현상이 나타나거나(가끔 모니터에서 데이터를 볼 수도 있지만, 어떤 경우에는 아무것도 못 볼 수도 있습니다), 아니면 사용자 인터페이스가 나오기 전에 화면이 검은색으로 변하는 경우, 맥오에스에서 디스플레이 설정을 <quote>thousands</quote>나 <quote>millions</quote> 대신에 256색으로 맞추십시오.
